downgrade to xp 64? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2008, 08:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default downgrade to xp 64?

X-fi doesnt sound good.. cant use 3dmark 06.. Blue screened when i loaded the newest nvidia drivers. assassins creed, bioshock, crysis, farcry 2 are jumpy and stattery in vista 64...used to play decent in xp. I only installed vista because xp is near end of life......Is it worth it downgrading?
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: downgrade to xp 64?

what?
have you put SP1 on vista? it is rock solid for me. and i've heard that xp 64 is horrible. i would stay away
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 09:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default Re: downgrade to xp 64?

yep i have sp1.

Not sure if it was a patch or what that screwed the machine up. All games are now jumpy
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: downgrade to xp 64?

philbar, are you running 64 bit though?

I am still using XP. Vista is far from the new windows "standard", I don't know if it ever will become it.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 09:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default Re: downgrade to xp 64?

I know that vista has dx 10....but if games cant play.. i will settle for stability@dx9
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 09:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: downgrade to xp 64?

Vista is stable. It is something you have installed that has made it unstable.

Are the drivers you installed WQHL Certified? Do you have the correct drivers for your sound card and Video card?

There is nothing wrong with Vista. I have used it for over 2 years now. It is just fine.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 09:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default Re: downgrade to xp 64?

I have the latest certified drivers for my graphics, sound, and nforce chipset. Machine is not even overclocked
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 10:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: downgrade to xp 64?

I doubt xp 64bit would be better for you, maybe xp 32bit... Apparently xp 32 isnt supported by anything. I admit vista has issues, but i think its definately more stable than any other windows. That issue you have could be that your running things in dx10 (which is a piece of crap imo) or something to do with driver conflicts. I would try reinstalling your drivers and using driver cleaner pro each time under safe mode after you remove them.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 11:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: downgrade to xp 64?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
and i've heard that xp 64 is horrible. i would stay away
It's definitely not. I'm using it as my OS.
I think it's a pretty good OS.
Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_helmet View Post
Apparently xp 32 isnt supported by anything.
wait, what?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 12:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: downgrade to xp 64?

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_helmet View Post
Apparently xp 32 isnt supported by anything.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COD4 patch downgrade erkster PC Gaming 10 11-17-2008 11:46 AM
Dell to downgrade XPS brand KurrentEweser Laptops and Notebooks 1 08-14-2008 06:41 PM
can i downgrade from vista to xp using an "XP Upgrade" CD? bronxblaza117 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 07-02-2008 10:30 PM
Sound Not Working after Downgrade endemix Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-03-2008 05:49 AM
HP Pavillion dv9500 VISTA DOWNGRADE HELP PLEASE JayNich Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-31-2007 07:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.