Double screen help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2008, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to derrick007
Default Double screen help.

I just got another monitor, and just now relized that i don't need it, but before i rule it out lets see if you guys can come up with a useful way for me to incorporate it into my system.

So i have it set to use both screens individualy, but the smaller one doesn't have a task bar like i wanted. is there anyway to put one on there? and also can i set it up to use two individual desktop backgrounds, or do i just have to do the stupid trick were you put two backgrounds together, then save it as one and use that?

Thanks in advance for the help, i obviously have no background in using two monitors whatsoever, but i'm doing my best
__________________

derrick007 is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Double screen help.

Are you running an ATI or Nvidia card?

I can only say for nvidia (cant remeber my ati days) which can not expand the taskbar across two screens, but it did try it once along time ago with ati, and trust me - it wasnt any good.

As for having differnet backgrounds, yes, you have to save them together as one image - its a windows limitation unfortunately.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to derrick007
Default Re: Double screen help.

Nvidia 8600gts
derrick007 is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Double screen help.

Third party software is the only way to get an extra toolbar on the screen not possible through nvidia controlpanel to my knowledge
Multimon - free
ultramon - trial 30 days

Never used multimon so can't comment but ultramon will let you setup individual backgrouds, individual screensavers. Remembers where the last program was running so it opens on the same monitor again i.e. msn on the secondary monitor. Display profiles so that you can quickly switch between different configs. It does everything you could need from a multiple monitor setup.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 11:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to derrick007
Default Re: Double screen help.

cool thanks for the help
derrick007 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hieroglyphics..... and a black screen YeloBlammo Laptops and Notebooks 34 09-11-2008 12:17 PM
Vertical color stripes on new laptop screen jcstrandb Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-13-2008 11:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.