Doing reformatting properly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2008, 08:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Doing reformatting properly

so yeah Ive been happily been living with my system for more then 6 months now and its been filled with a lot of games/software etc, and I know even when I uninstall them theres a lot of left over crap somewhere in the system ( which is why Im guessing reformatting after every year is a good idea ). I was just wondering since I dont really have much experience reformatting how to properly go about it.

Im running off windows xp

so yeah some questions:

1. I just plop the cd in, then reboot, then choose to clear the hard drives reinstall the whole OS over again?

2. I know I will have to update my video card, sound card, etc again, but what about my BIOS updates? do I have to update them? Will the battery retain my overclocking profile?

3. Is there any other way to reformat the hard drives?

4. I have 2 hard drives, 1 is a raptor, the other a 300 gig seagate. The games and the OS are on the raptor, is it possible to keep the data on the seagate and just reformat the raptor drive and reinstall the OS etc without having any problems?

Thanks in advance for the clarification
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 08:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Doing reformatting properly

First of all, backup.

1. Put the CD, boot from it, and run a format and reinstall from there.

2. Yes, the BIOS and the HDD are seperate. A format will not ruin BIOS settings.

3. Windows CD or Gparted are the best. I prefer Windows CD because you can format to NTFS and install XP all in one step.

4. It should be no problem.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 09:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Doing reformatting properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
First of all, backup.

1. Put the CD, boot from it, and run a format and reinstall from there.

2. Yes, the BIOS and the HDD are seperate. A format will not ruin BIOS settings.

3. Windows CD or Gparted are the best. I prefer Windows CD because you can format to NTFS and install XP all in one step.

4. It should be no problem.
+1 but what does this have to do with Building, Buying, or Upgrading High Performance PC Systems (I can't stand people who only think this is the only section of the forum)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Doing reformatting properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
+1 but what does this have to do with Building, Buying, or Upgrading High Performance PC Systems (I can't stand people who only think this is the only section of the forum)
lol, you mean there are other sub-forums?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
application failed to initialize properly 0xc0000005 Ronaldr Microsoft Windows and Software 2 12-27-2007 06:05 PM
Display driver 'is not working properly' help! Sgt Wild Lion Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 08-27-2007 03:11 PM
Drive Monitoring not working properly! phantom555 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 08-01-2007 11:14 AM
"The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000006)" - installation cd screwd r30nl12pc03f Microsoft Windows and Software 2 07-29-2007 03:11 PM
Can't properly diagnose the problem, there are too many conflicts to handle! skuzzy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 04-11-2007 03:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.