Doing major Graphical Upgrade, help is greatly appreciated :) - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2008, 11:38 AM   #41 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Doing major Graphical Upgrade, help is greatly appreciated :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Crysis is coded POORLY. It should not be looked at as a game you can max out.
Seriously.. I got Crysis again..

and still running at all low my overclocked HD 3200 does 15 FPS... ON AVERAGE and its not that fun either
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 03:02 PM   #42 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Doing major Graphical Upgrade, help is greatly appreciated :)

whats the highest setting on crysis ? very high or is it enthusiast ?
__________________

Techmaster05 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 03:06 PM   #43 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Doing major Graphical Upgrade, help is greatly appreciated :)

On Normal Crapsis (as in lot Warhead) its Very High but that requires Vista.. most of us here use the Very High Hack for XP
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 03:16 PM   #44 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Doing major Graphical Upgrade, help is greatly appreciated :)

well i have Vista 64 bit so yea, i thought enthusiast was the highest ?
Techmaster05 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 03:28 PM   #45 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Doing major Graphical Upgrade, help is greatly appreciated :)

That's on Warhead
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 09:32 PM   #46 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Doing major Graphical Upgrade, help is greatly appreciated :)

is the GTX 260 able to run it on enthusiast ? however you spell it, no AA or AF
Techmaster05 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 09:40 PM   #47 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Doing major Graphical Upgrade, help is greatly appreciated :)

You spelled it right...

Its not a matter of running at just enthusiast, you also have to worry about the res too...

A GTX 260 can do it on Warhead.. not Crysis though (well it can at lower Resolutions)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 09:44 PM   #48 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Doing major Graphical Upgrade, help is greatly appreciated :)

well i think they need to approve on this crytek engine or something, i remember when mercenaries came out, i dont know what it was but i think that game just took up to much resources to have good graphics, on my comp i could only run it in low, fallout 3 comes out, i can run it at medium with a couple settings turned up. Im actually a console gamer but im moving into the computer era also because of the whole windows live thing and such
Techmaster05 is offline  
Old 11-04-2008, 10:48 PM   #49 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Doing major Graphical Upgrade, help is greatly appreciated :)

The 9800 Gx2 will out perform the gtx 260 in Crysis all the time except on very high res (like 30" monitor). It was kind of odd, but in 2560 x 1620( I think), the 9800 Gx2 got 12 fps (not overclocked). In smaller res though, it beat the 260.

Acer Aspire 5920-6954 Laptop PC

Also, the cards are ranked like this:

1. HD4870 X2
2. GTX 280
3 9800GX2
4. HD4870
5. GTX 260

According to this site that is. In that video though, they tested it, and it showed the Gx2 did beat the 260 in Crysis in a res you would be playing at.
Druid is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 06:07 AM   #50 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Doing major Graphical Upgrade, help is greatly appreciated :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Techmaster05 View Post
is the GTX 260 able to run it on enthusiast ? however you spell it, no AA or AF
the most yo could do and get decent framerates with a single 260 would be 1280x1024... if you go beyond that, you'll need more framebuffer than the 260 has available... you can squeeze a few more frames outta the memory with an OC, but to do 16x12 in enthusiast and get acceptable fps you'll need about 1.15GB of buffer, which you wont get in any modern card, so you'll need SLI
__________________

__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Computer won't turn on, help greatly appreciated!!! dooodo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-09-2008 06:16 PM
Very frustrated, any help would be greatly appreciated. stroutman81 HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 05-19-2008 07:47 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.