Doesn't Feel Fast for a Gaming PC - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2007, 12:09 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

The FX is fast, but the new vid cards take a lot of cpu power to reach their potential...so it could be that, or it could be the Vista drivers, or it could be you're extremely picky.
__________________

Jrod is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 12:11 AM   #22 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yea I was just going to say this...the 8800GTX is the fastest card out there now and a single core just may be bottlenecking it, plus the fact that games like Oblivion see a big performance increase with Dual-Cores in general, that's like a double negative for you.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 01:33 AM   #23 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evergreen
I honestly have never had a problem with graphics due to a slower hard drive. 7200 RPM is fine.

Are your drivers up to date?
he only has a 8 mb cache tho teh 16 mb cache is almost 2 times faster
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 01:36 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Amd gt player
he only has a 8 mb cache tho teh 16 mb cache is almost 2 times faster
Not nearly. And it definitely will NOT affect his FPS in games. The extra cache helps mostly when moving files around. And most textures are loaded on the loading screen, and I *believe* that they're stored in the Graphics card's memory temporarily.
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 05:34 AM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Does a processor make that much of a difference to the fps within a game? thought it mainly affected the loading times. I can see where it will affect the game when objects are loaded in as well as textures, but once it is loaded doesnt it get sent to the graphics card for buffering ready to be displayed?

Besides, I have the fastest single core AMD processor out . Might have to try my 3DMark '06 and see what it says.
vipersrt_10 is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 11:18 AM   #26 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

u will still get better results from a duel core look i got the second fastest single core cpu and its still preaty slow
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 12:47 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vipersrt_10
Does a processor make that much of a difference to the fps within a game?
Check out this analysis: GeForce 8800 Needs The Fastest CPU. They compare two systems with nearly identical specs, except the CPU: an FX-60 vs. an X6800. The system with the faster CPU showed a rather dramatic performance increase in games.

Here's a graph showing their results (if you're too lazy to go through all the article):



The vertical % scale is the overall performance increase (in FPS) obtained when switching from the FX-60 to the X6800 (the rest of the system being as identical as possible). You can see that at normal resolutions (1024x768 to 1600x1200), a system with an 8800GTX is severely CPU-limited.

So yes, the processor can make a large difference in games if the video card is fast enough.

vipersrt_10: In your case, I'm guessing you could see similar results if you go from your FX-57 to an E6700 - but I understand it's a large investment (new CPU, new motherboard, new RAM).
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 01:52 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

Next month if Intel does indeed cut prices, The 6700 should be 312$ or around that.
__________________

augest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.