Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2008, 01:11 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
This was your first mistake. At this point in time though, there is no reason to buy a 32bit OS, and i really wish microsoft would cut the crap and just move to 64 bit only already.

BTW, my quad core is capable of 16ghz gogo 4 cores at 4ghz each!!!
That makes perfect sense! 4 x 4 = 16! It's so simple!

I think you're Best Buy material!

But as far as Geek Squad goes, they suck. They're very expensive, and they don't receive good training or anything from Best Buy. I prefer to find someone who works by themself, because that person will most likely charge less, and be more knowledgable and personable.

Hmm... but wait. If I have 2 cores, and they're both 64 bit, doesn't that mean I need a 128 bit OS? I don't think DDR2 RAM is compatible with that!
__________________

__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 10:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

What's really sad about Geek Squad is that having them fix your computer will probably cost you more than replacing it would.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 03:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Factotum View Post
The reason I was confused is because some joke no-it-all pc geek squad expert at Best Buy told me that in a dual core 64-bit processor, each core is 32 bit and combined they make a 64 bit processor...
OMFG i would have made that poor ******* feel like an idiot.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 06:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
OMFG i would have made that poor ******* feel like an idiot.
Thats the thing though, they will argue with you til they are blue in the face that the sky is in fact brown.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 11:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

i may have had to strangle him then. i hate when people do that. lol. but i do it myself. isnt that ironic?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 12:57 AM   #16 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethan_Kaizer View Post
Hmm... but wait. If I have 2 cores, and they're both 64 bit, doesn't that mean I need a 128 bit OS? I don't think DDR2 RAM is compatible with that!
Bad, bad, bad. Stop adding the cores already lol. Each one is 64 bit and both are 64 bit. They both work as separate individual Cores which are connected by a memory controller, and blah blah blah. The point is STOP adding lol.

Its like combining the productivity of two employees working side by side. Just because there is room for team work and better communication. It does not mean its wise to expect twice the productivity rate.

Thats why Dual Cores are much more stable and suffer from BOD's less often the single cores. Because they have two Cores simultaneously communicating and working together as a team.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 07:22 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

i hate it when people try to act like they know wat their talking about. at this place called disk smiths electronics in australia, they have crysis videos playing so people come in and think this crappy acer prebuilt can run crysis at high settings. i just annoys me...
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Bad, bad, bad. Stop adding the cores already lol. Each one is 64 bit and both are 64 bit. They both work as separate individual Cores which are connected by a memory controller, and blah blah blah. The point is STOP adding lol.

Its like combining the productivity of two employees working side by side. Just because there is room for team work and better communication. It does not mean its wise to expect twice the productivity rate.

Thats why Dual Cores are much more stable and suffer from BOD's less often the single cores. Because they have two Cores simultaneously communicating and working together as a team.

And the sound of air can be heard rushing above Hussein's cranium.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

*Whoosh*
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 07:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

kite fuel, yay-yer!
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Dual booted with XP. 35g700 Microsoft Windows and Software 10 09-25-2008 08:06 PM
Vista -> XP pc_boy Microsoft Windows and Software 47 10-08-2007 10:07 PM
Windows Vista Dual Monitor Help dishman Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-14-2007 04:36 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help KayoticOrigin New Systems | Building and Buying 14 08-09-2007 12:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.