Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2008, 12:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St.Louis
Posts: 5
Question Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

I got to thinking- if dual core 64 bit processors are two 32 bit processors acting together, then doesnt that mean a 32 bit OS on this hardware would only use half of the processor? Or does it split 16 bits on each core?
__________________

Factotum is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 12:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

That's not how it works, it won't "bog performance".
__________________

__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 12:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St.Louis
Posts: 5
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumping_Bean514 View Post
That's not how it works, it won't "bog performance".
Care to explain..............?
Factotum is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 12:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

Each core is 64bit. And each core on a typical modern processor is backwards compatible with 32bit software. Both cores will be used.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 01:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St.Louis
Posts: 5
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dario03 View Post
Each core is 64bit. And each core on a typical modern processor is backwards compatible with 32bit software. Both cores will be used.
The reason I was confused is because some joke no-it-all pc geek squad expert at Best Buy told me that in a dual core 64-bit processor, each core is 32 bit and combined they make a 64 bit processor...
Factotum is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 12:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

**** who are geek squad hiring these days? It just means that the CPU can be used with 64-bit software, doesn't mean it has to.
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 12:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

Thats like people that claim they have 6ghz core 2 duo lol. Sure is useful when selling stuff on ebay though as the average person wants the fastest possible and a 3ghz dual core or a 6ghz dual core is an easy decision for them lol
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 12:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Factotum View Post
The reason I was confused is because some joke no-it-all pc geek squad expert at Best Buy told me that in a dual core 64-bit processor, each core is 32 bit and combined they make a 64 bit processor...
This was your first mistake. At this point in time though, there is no reason to buy a 32bit OS, and i really wish microsoft would cut the crap and just move to 64 bit only already.

BTW, my quad core is capable of 16ghz gogo 4 cores at 4ghz each!!!
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-14-2008, 01:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

LOLZ 16ghz
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 01:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Does running 32-bit Vista on a dual-core 64-bit processor bog performance?

Well to begin, 64-bit dual cores running on 64-bit OS's run like two 64-bit processors. Straight forward, no gimmicks.
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Dual booted with XP. 35g700 Microsoft Windows and Software 10 09-25-2008 08:06 PM
Vista -> XP pc_boy Microsoft Windows and Software 47 10-08-2007 10:07 PM
Windows Vista Dual Monitor Help dishman Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-14-2007 04:36 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Dual Core Processor Issues--Please Help KayoticOrigin New Systems | Building and Buying 14 08-09-2007 12:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.