Does cache really make a difference in Core 2 Duos? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2007, 02:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Kj°len's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
Default Does cache really make a difference in Core 2 Duos?

We all know that the Core 2 Duo processors are famous for overclocking. I could buy an E6600 at 2.4GHz with 4MB of L2 cache, and overclock it to 3.6GHz on air. However, I could buy an E6300 at 1.86GHz with 2MB of L2 cache, overclock it to about the same speed, and save about $125. The only real difference is the amount of cache. Does 4MB of L2 cache really make the price difference worth it? Will I notice it when I'm playing Quake 4, Doom 3, F.E.A.R, or other new high-end games? Will it help me to rip my DVD faster? Will Solitaire run smoother?

Any input would be immensely helpful.
__________________

Kj°len is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 04:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

IIRC games won't have much a difference, Video ripping will, and Solataire only runs smooth with 16mb of cache, but I could be wrong.

However the the E6320 is coming out soon and it is suppose to be the same cost as the E6300 but with the 4mb cache.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Solitaire will run on any Windows system in the world.

Benchmarks show that the difference with the extra cache is negligable... about a 1-3% performance boost.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 05:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Yeah, the performance difference in most applications is not very notable, although some of them jumped up to 15% at times. Games don't see much of a difference though, certainly not $125 worth.

Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
However the the E6320 is coming out soon and it is suppose to be the same cost as the E6300 but with the 4mb cache.
Where do you guys keeping getting "next week" and "out soon"? AFAIK, it isn't coming until Q2, which isn't exactly soon since it can mean as late as July.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

If you can get the 6600 get it but the e6300 would be just fine.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 09:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

it makes a huge difference with super pi :-D
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 02:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TriEclipse
Yeah, the performance difference in most applications is not very notable, although some of them jumped up to 15% at times. Games don't see much of a difference though, certainly not $125 worth.



Where do you guys keeping getting "next week" and "out soon"? AFAIK, it isn't coming until Q2, which isn't exactly soon since it can mean as late as July.
I got it from whatever article said Q2 which to me is pretty soon since he didn't give a time frame. And it could be out as early as April.
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Dude...its Mid-January right now. And companies rarely, if ever, release the products at the beginning of the quarter. They pick a quarter, and then push to the farthest end of it for release. In most cases, atleast. In any case, Q2 is neither "next week," nor "soon" so stick to saying that they come out in April->June, or Q2.

Lol, second semester will "soon" be over when my first hasn't even fully ended yet. Amusing.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 06:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

If you can get an e6300 to hit 3.6 stable with any kind of non exotic cooling system lmk as your are a better man than I. Although it does rest alot on the ram the system is using, seeing as e6300's are locket at 7x muti and 3600/7 = 515mhz

So, you'd need to have your ram running at upwards of ddr2-1000 or PC2-8000

Anywho, thats my take

Ive got my e6600 up to about 3.72 on a higher end w/c loop 9x415 or something
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 06:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Memory dividers, Aspire.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.