Does AMD Athlon(64 Bit) Has No DDR2 Ram support - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2005, 11:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to Aura_Blade
Unhappy Does AMD Athlon(64 Bit) Has No DDR2 Ram support

I searched a lot and cant find any single MB for AMD Athlon 64 BIT that has DDR2 Ram (DIMM 533/800) support is it true.......................If so then why aint the AMD people doing a thing.....
__________________

Aura_Blade is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 11:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

It's true, no DDR2 support for AMD. They are going to make the switch with the next platform in 2006.

Keep in mind, that with the onboard memory controller of the AMD, they still get better bandwidth than and Intel with DDR2.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You can buy DDR that is the same speed as DDR2.
DDR450
DDR500
turtile is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 03:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

pfff DDR2 SCHMEEDEEARR2
The General is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 03:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I can't wait till they launch this. Its going to be interesting!
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

I wonder how much mobos / CPUs will cost at first.
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

socket M2! with the new Orleans cores, i wonder how these things OC, better get one early sense they can OC a lot better then my crappy 3200+ which is crapping out on me at 2.6
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 05:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
You can buy DDR that is the same speed as DDR2.
DDR450
DDR500
Well you can get DDR2 a lot faster than that. They have DDR2-1000 out there.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 05:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I think they're skipping straight to DDR3, but that's just what I've heard. Anybody have an actual final verdict?

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 05:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
I think they're skipping straight to DDR3, but that's just what I've heard. Anybody have an actual final verdict?

Ryan
That was just a rumor, they are going to DDR2 in 2006 with the new M2 socket. A quick google search should back this up...
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.