Does the Abit AN8 32x Nforce work correctly with the ATI x199xt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2006, 05:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default Does the Abit AN8 32x Nforce work correctly with the ATI x1900xt

Hello,

I just purchased a computer from Monarch systems, but I'm a little worried!

Does the above Abit SLI motherboard pair correctly with the ATI Radeon X1900xt video card I bought? It looks like I'm mixing a SLI mother board with a cross fire type of video card. Can I do that?

I thought that using a SLI mother board wouldn't work well with a Cross Fire type of card like the x1900xt.

I'm thinking that if I use the two ATI cards together in SLI Nvidia
Abit board I'm not going to get the same perfmance as if I used a cross fire type of board.

I'm also figuing that even one ati card in a SLI mother board isn't going to work correctly?

Is my thinking correct? Please help.

I also paired things up with an AMD X2 4400 and the antec true power 2 550W.

I'm also getting worried about the power supply. I read that this power supply might not cut it when using two of these powerful video cards. I was told to go with the Emermax Liberty ELT 620.

I'm sure that my computer isn't put together yet considering I ordered it last night a 6:00 PM!!! I'm going to call them this AM to make any changes if needed.

Thanks!
__________________

JasonR is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 05:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

you CAN'T run 2 1900xtx's in an SLI mobo
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 05:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

... or 1900xt..

and powersupply should be sufficient.. but wouldn't hurt to upgrade
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 06:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Does the Abit AN8 32x Nforce work correctly with the ATI x1900xt

Quote:
Originally posted by JasonR
Hello,

I just purchased a computer from Monarch systems, but I'm a little worried!

Does the above Abit SLI motherboard pair correctly with the ATI Radeon X1900xt video card I bought? It looks like I'm mixing a SLI mother board with a cross fire type of video card. Can I do that?

I thought that using a SLI mother board wouldn't work well with a Cross Fire type of card like the x1900xt.

I'm thinking that if I use the two ATI cards together in SLI Nvidia
Abit board I'm not going to get the same perfmance as if I used a cross fire type of board.

I'm also figuing that even one ati card in a SLI mother board isn't going to work correctly?

Is my thinking correct? Please help.

I also paired things up with an AMD X2 4400 and the antec true power 2 550W.

I'm also getting worried about the power supply. I read that this power supply might not cut it when using two of these powerful video cards. I was told to go with the Emermax Liberty ELT 620.

I'm sure that my computer isn't put together yet considering I ordered it last night a 6:00 PM!!! I'm going to call them this AM to make any changes if needed.

Thanks!
JasonR is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 06:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for your replies!

That stinks! It seems There's then no reason to buy this mother board if I can't use two cards in the future! Glad I checked.

Important question!

Am I better off keeping this card and getting a compatable mother board or getting an SLI Video card like the 7800gtx 256. They don't have the 512 version and I can't wait.

Any other suggestions!!!

Or should I keep as is if I plan only to use one card.

Thanks!!
JasonR is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 07:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

wait for 7900GTX
maroon1 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 12:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default

Wait for the 7900GTX? That is crazy, the x1900 already mops up on any game out right now. Why would he wait for the 7900gtx? why not keep his x1900 then sell it and buy a g80 series when it comes out so he can support dx10.
__________________

luke87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.