Does the Abit AN8 32x Nforce motherboard work correctly with the ATI x1900xt video - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2006, 05:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default Does the Abit AN8 32x Nforce motherboard work correctly with the ATI x1900xt video

Hello,

I just purchased a computer from Monarch systems, but I'm a little worried!

Does the above Abit SLI motherboard pair correctly with the ATI Radeon X1900xt video card I bought? It looks like I'm mixing a SLI mother board with a cross fire type of video card. Can I do that?

I thought that using a SLI mother board wouldn't work well with a Cross Fire type of card like the x1900xt.

I'm thinking that if I use the two ATI cards together in SLI Nvidia
Abit board I'm not going to get the same performance as if I used a cross fire type of board.

I'm also figuing that even one ati card in a SLI mother board isn't going to work correctly?

Is my thinking correct? Please help.

I also paired things up with an AMD X2 4400 and the antec true power 2 550W.

I'm also getting worried about the power supply. I read that this power supply might not cut it when using two of these powerful video cards. I was told to go with the Emermax Liberty ELT 620.

I'm sure that my computer isn't put together yet considering I ordered it last night a 6:00 PM!!! I'm going to call them this AM to make any changes if needed.

Thanks!
__________________

JasonR is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 03:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You can only use a single X1900XT and it will work fine.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 03:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Yea, you cant have Crossfire in a SLI motherboard at all and it's the same with SLI in a Xfire board. But the Xfire edition X1900 should run fine but you won't be able to run Crossfire.
Waphlez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.