do I really neeD thermal paste? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2006, 11:47 AM   #41 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132

I overclocked my 2.2ghz amd 64 3700+ to 2.4 and the temp is 46c witht the stock fan. and no special thermal paste. is that a good temp?

MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 02:20 PM   #42 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905

Originally posted by nitestick
you are also supposed to spread a thin layer on the base of the HSF to fill in any recesses on the heatsinks surface. then clear it away which will leave the gaps on the HSF's surface filled in with AS5. i would just like to point out that this question probably comes up at least 2-5 times a week on the forum
Wait, I'm confused. So are you supposed to spread it out, or just leave some on the CPU to spread itself out?

cyrax is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 03:32 PM   #43 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
boomstick666's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743

putting AS5 was the best and the cheapest performance upgrade ive ever done. made my cpu temp down 5-8c. i put that on GPU also. but no temp drop at going to put it on PWMIC and chipset when i get a chance. cuz for my set up, anything other than cpu is over heating. (not really over heating but i want to keep the temp down.)
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:36 PM   #44 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24

doesn't AS5 void your warranty with AMD tho?
996_gt2 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 09:28 PM   #45 (permalink)
Monster Techie
GrimReaper23's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23

yea same with intel I think
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 09:47 PM   #46 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905

Whoa, that doesn't make me keen to use AS5 then...

cyrax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.