do I really neeD thermal paste? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2006, 02:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cyrax
I'd rather use the pad though, I'm not confident enough in my computer-building skills to use paste. Afraid I might get some on the mobo, or somethin.
It's not that big of a deal. It's like toothpaste in a way; it slowly comes out of the tube, definetly not runny. You just squeeze a dab in the middle and that's it.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 02:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NathanM
It's not that big of a deal. It's like toothpaste in a way; it slowly comes out of the tube, definetly not runny. You just squeeze a dab in the middle and that's it.
And then you've got to spread it out to the edges. That's the part I'm worried about.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 02:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

No, you can just sit the HSF on it and it'll smear itself out because of gravity.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 02:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Is that what you did when you installed yours?
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 02:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Yep, well, it helps to 'slightly' wiggle it around too, to make sure it's smeared effectively. My temps are at 41-42¬ļC max when gaming. It's obviously simple and effective.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 02:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Default

yea. if you spread it out it's not good. read the manual for arctic silver.
__________________
-Intel 820
-Intel D945PSN
-Corsair XMS DDR2 675Mhz
-Western Digital 250GB w/ 16MB and SATAII
-ATI X1900 All-in-Wonder
-Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
-3dmark05 = 4800
mtb2005 is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 02:50 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Yep alls you do is put a small dab (smaller then a pea) of the thermal paste in the middle. Then put the heatsink on and your good to go.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 03:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

The pressure from the HS will force it out. The stuff isn't supposed to be thick like a pad. It's supposed to give the heatsink as much contact as possible to the heat spreader on the processor.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 05:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mtb2005
yea. if you spread it out it's not good. read the manual for arctic silver.
a rice grain and a half to be exact.....
__________________
!!!!NEW BUILD!!!!
Asus A8n SLI-939 deluxe
Athlon 64 3000+
Antec SLI ready 550wt PSU
AMD Athlon64 3200+
320+ gb of hd
1Gb Kingston HyperX pc3200/400Mz
xfx 6800 extreme 256Mb FOC
antech p180
Lord Leviathan is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 05:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord Leviathan
a rice grain and a half to be exact.....
Depends on the CPU.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.