do I really neeD thermal paste? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2006, 08:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default do I really neeD thermal paste?

I just bought an AMD 3700 processor, and it came with a heat sink and that heatsink already has a square of grey stuff on the bottom. so my question is, it that stuff thermal paste that comes withthe processor? and if so can i just install the processor without getting additional thermal paste?
__________________

MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 08:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 61
Default

It is a thermal pad. You can use it on its own and they work fine, some like to use artic silver paste but most dont bother.
__________________

morgster is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 09:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Yeah, if you're not overclocking or anything, just plop that ceramic goo on there. The standard one works fine for the everyday user.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 11:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 99
Default

I got an amd athlon 64 3500+ and it didn't come with any goop but the fan allready had the stuff on it.
Ihatewalmart is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 12:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

and if I overclock the processor and at the same time I dont use arctic silver?
MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 12:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Its recommended that you have some Thermal Paste on there, but it isn't absolutely necessary. I had an older PC that I overclocked, but didn't use Thermal Paste on and the load temps reached 56°C-57°C. Thats not quite dangerously high, but it made me uncomfortable.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 01:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I hate thermal pads. When I build PC's for people, even just a simple basic PC, I remove the pads and put on AS5. Regardless of OCin' or not. It just works 10 times better then anything.

I put AS5 on a HP with a crap celeron and the idle temps went from 34C to 28C, even with a small HS & Fan.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 02:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

I'd rather use the pad though, I'm not confident enough in my computer-building skills to use paste. Afraid I might get some on the mobo, or somethin.
cyrax is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 02:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I plan on not putting AS5 on mine because I'm not going to overclock for a while. And once I do I want an aftermarket heatsink and don't want to have to bother cleaning all the crap off.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 02:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Yeah, once I start overclocking I will probably do the same thing.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.