do I really need such a high-end graphics card? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2007, 03:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: do I really need such a high-end graphics card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
Um no I HIGHLY disagree with this statement and must refute it at once. An X600 can't even run BF2 at decent settings at decent resolution. In NO way or form can a x550 run BF2 at Maxed settings without getting an FPS of around 10-15 with massive video hitches. BF2 even today still demands a decent system ( takes at least a x1950 or high end 7 series card to run it at max settings with 60+ fps ). My x800 xl can BARELY run BF2 at medium settings at 1024x800 resolution and gets around 20-30 fps.
my friend have you used a a card in the X300 series, i know for FACT i can run BF2 online with high settings and not get any lag, learn from experience not what you read or you are told
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 04:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: do I really need such a high-end graphics card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
my friend have you used a a card in the X300 series, i know for FACT i can run BF2 online with high settings and not get any lag, learn from experience not what you read or you are told
An X300!?!?!?!? Are you friggin kidding? Wow...no offense but you are SERIOUSLY WRONG. I HAVE learned from experience, Ive seen MANY cards running BF2 and I state again, you need a x1950 to run it at full settings to get 60+ FPS. I mean what do you consider "not get any lag" 10-20 FPS? Cause thats seriously what you would get from a CRAPPY x300, even a 9800 pro is better then a x300!

Seriously anyone reading this, this guy is totally talking out of his butt and spreading false information. Just look at these benchmarks:
Real Gaming Challenge: Intel vs. AMD: Results: Battlefield 2

their test setup is a geforce 7800! You telling me the x300 can get these FPS results? Your a joke...someone needs to back me up against this guy spreading false crap.
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 04:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: do I really need such a high-end graphics card?

noo im running a X550, belive me for gods sake, i can play BF2 on high without any lag
Nick is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 04:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: do I really need such a high-end graphics card?

Lets see some benchmark tests with your card. Screenshot of FPS?
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 05:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: do I really need such a high-end graphics card?

bloody **** can you two ****s not take my workd that i can play BF2 on high with my card, i dont give two ****s what you think, at least i know that i can play it on high, you pricks always have to be the best and always be right

oh and AMD kicks in that test w00t
Nick is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: do I really need such a high-end graphics card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
bloody **** can you two ****s not take my workd that i can play BF2 on high with my card, i dont give two ****s what you think, at least i know that i can play it on high, you pricks always have to be the best and always be right

oh and AMD kicks in that test w00t
LOL now I DEFINATELY don't believe you. How can you possible get a kick out of bragging to message board strangers?

Your X550 is crap and is even worse off then a X600 which was crap to begin with. Your card has 128 mb of video memory which is the MINIMUM system requirements for BF2 ( for comparison sake I have a x800 xl 256 mb as I mentioned earlier could only run BF2 at medium setting with 40 fps )

Your default memory clock max is 250 for god sake! Your telling us your card can outperform a geforce 7800/ati x1900?

Your Bandwidth max (GB/s) is 8!!!!! My x800 xl has 32!!!!!! This is just for COMPARISON SAKE! I mean how much more evidence do I need? Look for yourself: Comparison of ATI Graphics Processing Units - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Your a joke, your definition of no lag is probably like an unplayable 10 fps with lag hitches. Heck I don't even think your card can top 60 FPS on the LOWEST settings of BF2...no joke!

Someone who knows even an ounce of GPU knowledge needs to back me up here.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 07:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: do I really need such a high-end graphics card?

no, im telling you i dont get any lag on high settings, not saying my card can out perform a 7800, i never said i get an amazing Fps, you never took into account my internet connection, lag can be down to having a poor connection, you must be looking at a very out of date card, for your information my card is and ATI Radeon X550 256MB DDR memory,

so for **** sake all i said was i didnt get any lag on high and you have to go on and on about how crap my card is, i dnt give to craps about my card being crap, it does what it does fine,
Nick is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 07:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: do I really need such a high-end graphics card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
no, im telling you i dont get any lag on high settings, not saying my card can out perform a 7800, i never said i get an amazing Fps, you never took into account my internet connection, lag can be down to having a poor connection, you must be looking at a very out of date card, for your information my card is and ATI Radeon X550 256MB DDR memory,

so for **** sake all i said was i didnt get any lag on high and you have to go on and on about how crap my card is, i dnt give to craps about my card being crap, it does what it does fine,
Wait wait...your wording is very sketchy, do you mean lag as in bad FPS or as in ping. Everyone knows ping is mainly affected by your ISP, thats not the issue were talking about here. Were talking about FPS performance with your card, which should be very bad. I say this not to diss your card ( heck even my x800 is getting old and senile ) but to let other people know the truth. So someone doesn't rush out there with an x550 expecting optimal performance in BF2 when truth be told, they will get very dismal performance. I'd say around 10 FPS if you max the settings.

Originally you stated your card can max out settings without any lag, you refered to lag as in FPS lag, not ping/latency lag which you now claim what you originally ment. Your not making any sense, and frankly i don't think your worth the time.

BTW I suggest you get a 8800 GTS for 250 after MIR instead of the 8600 as the 8800 GTS performance is LIGHT years ahead of the 8600.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 08:46 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: do I really need such a high-end graphics card?

Good Lord get a life. Who gives a rip about this. Someone asked a question that's it!! Kinda took over this poor guys post didn't ya.
SHAME SHAME SHAME
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 08:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: do I really need such a high-end graphics card?

ok ffs.. end this stupid flamewar... i'm water and i put u flames out....


but a 7600gt destroys cs:s at 1600x1200 and u wouldn't notice anything going from x4 to x8

but an x1950xt would destroy games... but it comes at a 200+ price range for a AGP Card and u might need a PSU upgrade
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power to graphics card Bankfishin New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-07-2007 11:00 AM
Won't go onto Windows Logon or Accounts through graphics card, but will on shared gfx Linked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-28-2007 09:04 PM
Graphics card issue? superdave1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-16-2007 08:57 AM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.