Do i need an upgrade to play 1080p files? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2007, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default Do i need an upgrade to play 1080p files?

Hello again forumers

I asked about a rig i was planning on buying a few days ago, but i decided to hold out until the new ati phenoms came out. I wanted that rig to be a kind of media medium, to play 1080p (downloaded ) files onto my television.

So, here's my question: Could the rig i have now play the 1080p files without any issues? I've been reading up and have heard that you may need some heavy hardware to play them smoothly. I don't have the full files yet, but ETA is just 2 weeks or so away. My current rig is outlined in my signature. If further specs are needed just let me know and i'll provide them as soon as i can!
__________________

__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 10:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Do i need an upgrade to play 1080p files?

The 7900GS supports acceleration of H.264 so you shouldn't have a problem. Just try it out and see what happens.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 10:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Do i need an upgrade to play 1080p files?

You can play 1080p HD movies with ease, but you won't play them in 1080p resolution (1920 x 1080), on those small monitors.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Do i need an upgrade to play 1080p files?

He said he was going to use it on his TV, b1g .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 10:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Do i need an upgrade to play 1080p files?

I must be losing it. Thanks, for pointing that out. As long as that TV supports 1080p, then.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 10:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default Re: Do i need an upgrade to play 1080p files?

Oh sorry to have left that out, the files are being played onto a 1080p television.

So there shouldn't be any HDCP issues going from computer to television? Apologies in advance if that was a stupid question, i'm still exploring the new HD era...
__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 09-30-2007, 10:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Do i need an upgrade to play 1080p files?

When you're talking about an HD video card, or HDCP, in computer terms, it's simply how high of a resolution can be rendered, or how many pixels can be produced in general.

When you're talking about HD in terms of TVs or displays, usually it's how many pixels there are, and how many are in a certain amount of space (Hence DPI).

So in other words, if your computer can play and render that many pixels, and the interface is wide enough to transfer them to the TV, and the TV suports displaying that many pixels, then yes, it will be "HD."
Alexinator is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 01:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Do i need an upgrade to play 1080p files?

you can download hd trailers of films so get one and check yourself
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 02:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Do i need an upgrade to play 1080p files?

Make sure the card is HDCP compliant, or it wil downscale the video to sub par 720p quality although if i do remember correctly Anydvd Hd will let you pass HDCP content through DVI. So in the end its all about HDCP, basically and your tv being able to run at 1080p@30Hz,60Hz, and 24Hz. Im not sure if you can pass 1080p signal Through DVI but im pretty sure you can since most 7 series cards are HDCP ready.
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 10-01-2007, 08:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Do i need an upgrade to play 1080p files?

yeah i always try to play 1080p video on my olf comp to find only audio works. But my gtx no's whats going on . i would say there is no reason at all to get a phenom for watching videos would seem like a waste. unless your gaming aswell.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
99% Memory used? tommyboy123x New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-27-2007 10:19 PM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
how can I play two audio files on a 4 ch audio card ludmil Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 05-30-2007 02:57 PM
Strange Problem - Cannot get mp3 or wma files to play but wav files will play..read afulls04 Computer Audio and Multimedia 8 04-23-2007 04:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.