Do I Need Sound Card for My Desktop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2016, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 78
Default Do I Need Sound Card for My Desktop?

I'll be building a gaming desktop and buying a monitor with built-in speakers. Do I need a sound card or will the speakers from the monitor suffice? Here's my build:

Intel Core i5-6500, MSI GeForce GTX 970, DIYPC P48-BK - Lighter Rig - xlook's Saved Part List - PCPartPicker
__________________

ruzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Do I Need Sound Card for My Desktop?

You're kind of asking 2 separate questions.

That motherboard has audio outputs, so no you don't need a soundcard.

As for monitor speakers vs regular speakers....up to you.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 07:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Do I Need Sound Card for My Desktop?

Also, depending on the monitor most get their audio source via HDMI or DP anyways, so sound device not needed in that regard.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 08:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 78
Default Re: Do I Need Sound Card for My Desktop?

Appreciate the response guys. This is good news to me.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
ruzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 04:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
MadmanRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: In the not too distant future...
Posts: 205
Default Re: Do I Need Sound Card for My Desktop?

Sound cards are only there for audiophiles, if you want to do basic sound or even HD sound most in built cards will do fine
MadmanRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 04:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Do I Need Sound Card for My Desktop?

Not even that anymore really. If you have optical out on your board you're golden because an audiophile will be using a receiver or external DAC anyways.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 04:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
MadmanRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: In the not too distant future...
Posts: 205
Default Re: Do I Need Sound Card for My Desktop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Not even that anymore really. If you have optical out on your board you're golden because an audiophile will be using a receiver or external DAC anyways.
That part does rely on the mobo though, optical out is optional especially on lower end motherboards
MadmanRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 05:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Do I Need Sound Card for My Desktop?

IMO if you can afford a high end receiver you can afford a better than cheap board. I've had optical on all of my boards since 2006 and they weren't the top end stuff. The other option is using the spdif header.

ASUS H110M-A LGA 1151 Intel H110 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 uATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com
http://www.amazon.com/SPDIF-RCA-Plat...s=spdif+header
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creative PCIe x1 sound card vs. Gigabyte onboard sound card, which is better? soarwitheagles Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 01-06-2012 02:37 AM
Strange sound problems Low Sound/Popping Sound/LOUD sound DavidJC Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 05-20-2008 08:13 PM
Desktop Sidebar: access the information you need straight from your desktop Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 03-24-2008 08:44 AM
new sound card + current TV card = no sound Haris_P Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 05-27-2004 11:56 AM
Recording from sound card to sound card dooviewhacker Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 10-10-2003 06:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.