Do i need a new power supply for a new vid card? 450w - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2008, 04:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 51
Default Do i need a new power supply for a new vid card? 450w

okay, so I have my main gaming computer which is pimped out, but I'm making another one from an older pc.

----
it's current set up

processor: intel core2duo e8400
memory: 2gb
video card: geforce 7900 gtx oc
Power supply: 450w, lawl
It runs games fine, but It starts running crappy for games like COD4, Fallout 3, WoW:WOTLK with full shadows, etc.

I only have one dvd drive, using built in sound on the motherboard, and using built in ethernet.

I want to upgrade to a different video card, preferably under 500 dollars. Can anyone recommend one that's significantly better than my 7900 gtx oc? ATI? Nvidia?

I'm assuming i'd need a more powerful PS if i wanted one of the 2gpu cards like 9800 or the new ati 4870.

what about one of the ATI HD 3870 X2 1GB cards? would my PS hold up? It's holding up just fine now.

GeForce GTX 260, this seems a reasonable price too, and is getting great reviews


thanks for any input
__________________

Optional is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Do i need a new power supply for a new vid card? 450w

how much do you want to spend?

what specifically is your psu, links if possible, info from the side sticker would work.

What size monitor do you plan on using?
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 05:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: Do i need a new power supply for a new vid card? 450w

I'm using a 22" widescreen. I still have the sheet my comp came with when I had it custom made, my power supply is this:

OCZ OCZ45012U-450W Modstream Power Supply PCI-E Ready W/ Ezmod Cable System & Blue LED Fan

It's held out really nice so far, and sorry I meant the 4870 ati. Those aren't 2gpu cards, so it shouldnt do much more, if any, wattage than my 7900 gtx. I'd want to keep it under 200 if possible.

I'm not really wanting to buy a new PSU because I have no idea how to put it in, the store near me that I go to can do it for me, but i'd have to drop it off for several days.
Optional is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Do i need a new power supply for a new vid card? 450w

well that's actually a great little psu that you have there. 26A on the 12v rail is a solid start. You can put a good card on that, but a 4870x2 would be way out of your price range, power range, and would be over kill for your system. I'd recommend either a 4870 or gtx260 core 216. Those are both under 300 last I knew and will serve you fine with your current configuration.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 06:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: Do i need a new power supply for a new vid card? 450w

Thanks for the up man. I'm gunna go out and grab a 4870.

Is there a difference between a 512mb and a 1gb 4870? Their price is like the exact same..
Optional is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 06:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Do i need a new power supply for a new vid card? 450w

the 1gb will only come into play when you're playing on higher resolutions. as in higher than your 22"
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 06:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Do i need a new power supply for a new vid card? 450w

woah woah woah.

26 amps on the 12V rail is not very much at all...you won't run a 4870...you definitely need to upgrade the power supply if you want a nice mid-high end card.

This:
Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR AX4870 512MD5-PPH Radeon HD 4870 512MB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
205 (190 after rebate)

And this:
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
100 (80 after rebate)

and this:
Newegg.com - OCZ SLI-Ready Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
50


That's below your budget and a nice upgrade. Sell your current ram on the bay. Do you know what motherboard you have?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 06:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: Do i need a new power supply for a new vid card? 450w

My ram is fine, my motherboard is a gigabyte something or other, they are both fine I'm too lazy to look up their names.

I'm getting mixed feedback here, some say my ps will run the 4870 fine, some say it wont.
Optional is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 06:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Do i need a new power supply for a new vid card? 450w

If gurusan says it won't run then I'd go with his word.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 06:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Do i need a new power supply for a new vid card? 450w

it won't run, and i suggested the ram because 4gb is pretty much the standard for gamers today. 2gb isn't enough in my opinion.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Power supply suggestions Neopopulas New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-07-2008 11:53 AM
Power supply issues - Dell inspiron 531 Yuffles System Upgrades 16 02-17-2008 03:59 PM
What video card for a 375W Power Supply? Maynard99 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-11-2008 03:51 PM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.