Do i need floppy disk dirive?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2005, 05:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default Do i need floppy disk dirive??

im a ultra noob about any of this..(never owned windows comp. this is the very 1st one)
i just built a rig w/o floppy drive..
do i really need floppy drive to start setting up bios at very beginning?
im not on raid so i don need to put drivers for it.
and also do i need PS2 keyboard for it?
right now i have neither...
help a noob pls...i know nothing about bios..ive been researching but they r all new to me.
any tip for the very first timer how to tweak or set it up will be apreciated..
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 05:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Its "easier" to have the floppy and a ps2 keyboard.
but not absolutely necessary.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
Its "easier" to have the floppy and a ps2 keyboard.
but not absolutely necessary.
so when i start up the very first time, is my usb keyboard works?
im just afraid that when its start up, i wont be able to do anything...
and so..i set bios first then install windows??
is there any site shows "step by step what to do for absolute noobs"?
i cant seem to find any...
thx
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

they dont cost much & my honest opinion is they are so usefull that i cant see why you wouldnt have one
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The_Tobes99
they dont cost much & my honest opinion is they are so usefull that i cant see why you wouldnt have one
ok thx..i guess ill get 1..i just thought i don need floppy drive cuz i havent used it in years.
since ive only used mac, the floppy is gone for quite while..
so mb i need ps2 keys too...bah..
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by boomstick666
i just thought i don need floppy drive cuz i havent used it in years.
I've really never used mine either till the other day,Dam xp wouldn't pick up my web cam and the only way of getting it to work was getting the driver's from my kid's pc and putting it on a floppy So it might just come in handy for you too 1 day
Shumway is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

o and btw this is off topic..but whats the good virus protection software?
since mac has no known virus so i havent checked any of security software..
man...pc is so complicated and pain in the *** compare to mac...
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Try AVG
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Back on topic, do you need a floppy drive to flash the bios? are there any alternatives, like media cards or discs?
__________________
Gateway 506GR
CPU: Intel P4 Prescott 550 HT 3.4Ghz
MOBO: Intel D915GAG
RAM:1Gb (2x512) Samsung DDR400 PC3200 3,3,3,8
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM SATA 200GB
VGA: Diamond Stealth Radeon 9200SE
PSU: Thermaltake TR2 430W
Dan DeVille is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

yes, you can create an .ISO of memtest and boot it up that way... ooooorrrrrrr, you can just use memtest86 ( i think ) and you don't have to boot to it at all.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.