Do I need drivers for a p55 mobo in windows 7? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2009, 11:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Do I need drivers for a p55 mobo in windows 7?

I just got some hardware and my current motherboard doesn't need drivers for windows 7.

Does a P55 motherboard need drivers?

This is the mobo i got:

Newegg.com - EVGA P55 LE 123-LF-E653-KR LGA1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards



Thanks in advance!
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 12:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Do I need drivers for a p55 mobo in windows 7?

Im sure if you just do a windows update, it will download whatever drivers it needs.

Or goto manufacturers site and check.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 04:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Re: Do I need drivers for a p55 mobo in windows 7?

Thanks for the reply!

I installed everything and i pretty much didn't need them, but installed them anyway.



However, For some reason, my computer will only read 1.99GB of RAM instead of 4, and I don't know why.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 05:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Do I need drivers for a p55 mobo in windows 7?

check your ram with cpuz to see if it is seeing both sticks.

running a 64bit OS?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 12:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Re: Do I need drivers for a p55 mobo in windows 7?

yeah, it can read both sticks, and yes, it's windows 7 64 bit.


I'm going to go to the store tonight after work and exchange the 2x2GB sticks for a single 4GB. I'd rather have 4GB than 2GB running in dual channel.

I think if I have a single stick, and put it in one of the main DIMMs than it will work, because from all the reading i've done, it seems like the only people having trouble with it are people running in dual channel.


but it seems to be the problem with a HUGE number of P55 boards, and I have no clue why this isnt getting fixed either.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 01:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Do I need drivers for a p55 mobo in windows 7?

Switch the sticks around in the slots, make sure they are fully seated and theres no dust or anything else in the way.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 01:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Do I need drivers for a p55 mobo in windows 7?

make sure both sticks are in the same colored slots, the gray ones are preferred. What brand of memory are they? Here's the compatibility list EVGA | Support | Motherboard Support . You should stick with a 2x2GB kit.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 03:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Re: Do I need drivers for a p55 mobo in windows 7?

Everything checks out, i tried reseating, i used different dimms, the ram is listed as compatible, sucks that this is a problem that's especially prevalent for the i5-750/P55 boards. and thing is, it doesn't matter WHO makes the board either.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 04:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Do I need drivers for a p55 mobo in windows 7?

Yeah it has something to do with the chipset and the processor, wish there was an easy fix but it usually requires the board to be RMAed or the ram to be as well. Might want to try to reseat the CPU as well, that sometimes work. Try clearing CMOS as well and take out the BIOS battery as well.
coolcomics is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 05:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Re: Do I need drivers for a p55 mobo in windows 7?

FIXED IT!!

So I ran through everything AGAIN.

Reseated the CPU, Cleared the CMOS, already flashed the BIOS, I reseated the RAM, underclocked it to see if that was the problem, Changed the Memory remapping, nothing changed.





But that I though, "what if I took it out of dual channel?"

so I put both stick instead of in the dual channel slots, just put them in slots 1 and 2. Rebooted.


BOOM. 4GB of RAM.

So I think for the most part, i've isolated the problem, and it seems to be the P55 chipset, or the memory controller on the i5's, OR a combination of the i5's and the P55 have problems with dual channel and will only allocate half of it. Running in single channel seems to make it a moot point.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Sets Windows 7 Pricing, Upgrade Programs Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 58 07-10-2009 11:04 AM
How to install xp without the xp cd. EricB Official TF Tutorials 45 03-07-2009 06:17 PM
xp sp3 beta not in add remove office politics Microsoft Windows and Software 10 01-10-2009 04:28 AM
bloody keyloggers oldstoat HijackThis Logs (finished) 10 10-22-2008 02:12 AM
Booting Windows XP From An External Drive Osiris Apple and Mac 0 09-11-2008 09:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.