Do I have a PCI Express 2.0 Slot? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2008, 02:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 55
Default Do I have a PCI Express 2.0 Slot?

Just wondering if I do have the slot to run this Newegg.com - XFX PVT88PYDF4 GeForce 8800 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

I am using a nForce4 SLI Intel Edition chipset and a Socket 775 LGA

I use a 7900 GTX right now.. is 2.0 that new of a technology or??
__________________

blayez is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default Re: Do I have a PCI Express 2.0 Slot?

ya 2.0 is the new technology, but your motherboard will still be able to use that card, if anything just not to its full capability.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 01:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: Do I have a PCI Express 2.0 Slot?

does the motherboard that I listed typically have this new technology? I would like to be sure I can run the card at full performance
blayez is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Do I have a PCI Express 2.0 Slot?

No. Your motherboard probably does not have a 2.0 slot, but that is not necessary to run the card. All PCI-E x16 2.0 devices are backwards compatible with PCI-E x16 (1.0).

To give you a definite answer, you could tell us your exact motherboard model. You can use CPU-Z to show your system configuration and find out what type of motherboard you have exactly.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: Do I have a PCI Express 2.0 Slot?

Ah yes, I am sorry. I should have provided you with the model number from the beginning, but I did not see it listed under CPU-Z.

It is 0YF432
blayez is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Do I have a PCI Express 2.0 Slot?

Under mainboard it didn't list any of the following?
* Vendor, model and revision.
* BIOS model and date.
* Chipset (northbridge and southbridge) and sensor.
* Graphic interface.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 03:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: Do I have a PCI Express 2.0 Slot?

Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
Model : 0YF432 A00
Rev: C1
Bios: Dell inc. 1.1.3 07/31/2006
chipset: nvidia nforce 4 sli intel edition
southbridge: Nvidia nforce 590 SLI
LPCIO: SMSC

Graphic interface: PCI-Express
Link width: x16 Max supported: x16


thats everything I can get from it
blayez is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 03:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Do I have a PCI Express 2.0 Slot?

Yep. It has two PCI-E x16 where the second lane would run at x1 or x4 in SLI. But neither is 2.0. Regardless, the card will still run fine in your system.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 03:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: Do I have a PCI Express 2.0 Slot?

Ok, thank you very much for your help surgeVel, your advice is very helpful as usual ^^
blayez is offline  
Old 06-02-2008, 04:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Do I have a PCI Express 2.0 Slot?

The only boards that have pci-e 2.0 are x38 and above, and 750/780/790. For intel boards that is. But at this moment in time nothing actually uses the full 16x, that may change later this month when the new cards come out though.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCI Express 2.0 x16 questions... 35g700 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 05-26-2008 11:56 AM
PCI Express 2.0 immy3 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-23-2008 04:00 PM
8800GTS (G92) PCI Express 2.0 x16 KNiGHTMaRe89 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 02-26-2008 07:40 PM
PCI Express 2.0: Scalable Interconnect Technology, TNG DawnOfDoom New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-22-2008 02:41 AM
PCI Express slot no longer responding to Hardware - Help please! pushlatency Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-03-2007 09:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.