Do i have ATA or SATA? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2006, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
spikoman69's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Do i have ATA or SATA?

Is there a difference? i need to know what i have, because of an amazing deal on a HDD on black friday. 200gb-$20

I have the dell dimension 4500s

Also, i need details on how to hook this harddrive up to ghost my old one to it, i only have 2 ide slots, one with my current harddrive, and one with my cd-rw. So do i disconnect my optical drive and use those cables to hook up the new drive, then ghost my old one to it?

spikoman69 is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 10:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
spikoman69's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726

everywhere says the harddrive i have is IDE-40pin, but i dunno what to i use, ata or sata?

AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 10:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Shumway's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729

If it's a 40pin it's a normal ATA drive.
Shumway is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 10:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to Gizzard1200 Send a message via Yahoo to Gizzard1200

SATA is faster usually newer dells ship with sata just open the case up and see the big huge cable big=ata small=sata about ghosting the hard drive i have not worked with norton ghost so no advice on that but yeah 200 gb HD is an excelent deal for 20 bucks
Gizzard1200 is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 10:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486

You will have IDE drives. You can have two drives per IDE channel (connector). It does not look like your Dell has SATA.

Why go through the trouble of ghosting it? Just hook it up and just use it as a second hard drive.
Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.