DirectX 10 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2006, 01:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

SSE4 is a kit of instructions that are coded into your CPU, if you can reprogram your CPU it will support SSE4, physically all is possible, but you cant really do it since you dont have the equipment.

Anyway, the cards doesnt come with instructions for DX.... as far as I know anyway...... I've consulted with a couple, way more exprienced people than you, and they all said the same thing.. there will be a patch released shortly after the DX10 release to make the older cards [not VERY old cards, but anything above the nvidia 6600/gt and the x800 for pcie of ATI].

-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 01:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
SSE4 is a kit of instructions that are coded into your CPU, if you can reprogram your CPU it will support SSE4, physically all is possible, but you cant really do it since you dont have the equipment.

Anyway, the cards doesnt come with instructions for DX.... as far as I know anyway...... I've consulted with a couple, way more exprienced people than you, and they all said the same thing.. there will be a patch released shortly after the DX10 release to make the older cards [not VERY old cards, but anything above the nvidia 6600/gt and the x800 for pcie of ATI].

-Jo.

I know what SSE is, that was a retorical question.

You can't "reprogram" a CPU to support instruction sets it didn't support before. There is actualy hardware needed.

I consulted myself, who is way more experienced than you. (**** you, by the way.)

It is not possible

The end.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 05:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

You are both wrong. When DX10 is released it wil be using a whole new algorithym in Vista so that way there is less paging to the HD. If you have a DX10 card and DX10 installed you will constantly be in D3D mode from desktop to games so that way there is no more crashing between games and desktop when going between the 2. Also, if that is the case you can say good by to OpenGL which was a failure of a product anyways. It was always so buggy and crashy.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 08:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

i'll say it relies more on the hardware than the software part because they say dx 10 has more bandwith, less relied on the cpu, supports pixil shader 4.0... and let see if a software patch could do all those craps without sacrifice something.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 08:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

Nobody says DX10 has bandwidth becasue software cant have bandwidth . Actualy is relies more on the CPU now becasue of Gemotry shaders instead of pixel and verticy shaders. It also supports more than just SM4.0, it will have support for more in the future. And actualy a software patch CAN do all that, its called a DX9 emulator. Older stuff will be emulated in DX9 for older hardware support. Nothing will be renderd in DX9 hardwre ounce DX10 is out because they are dropping support for legacy DX.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 10:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
You are both wrong. When DX10 is released it wil be using a whole new algorithym in Vista so that way there is less paging to the HD. If you have a DX10 card and DX10 installed you will constantly be in D3D mode from desktop to games so that way there is no more crashing between games and desktop when going between the 2. Also, if that is the case you can say good by to OpenGL which was a failure of a product anyways. It was always so buggy and crashy.

I don't even know what to say to you, as this is one of the dumbest posts I have ever read.

1. How are we both wrong? He says it's just software, I say it's not. I am right.

2. Algorithym? Do you even know what an algorithm is?

3. Less paging to the harddrive? Have you used Vista? 900mb PF usage at idle.

4. Say good bye to OpenGL? LOL. If Microsoft does that they will go out of business due to 2/3 of the gaming industry moving their **** to Mac OS and Linux. Not to mention ALL OF THE MOVIE INDUSTRY.

5. OpenGL was a failure of a product anyway? Firstly, it's not a product. Do you have any idea what you're saying? LOL APPARENTLY NOT. Buggy and crashy? LOL. I CAN'T BELIEVE YOU REALLY SAID THAT! YOU HAVE TO BE JOKING! LOL!
The General is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 12:30 AM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

Hm considering that Vista isnt running on DX10 yet you wouldnt know now would you? DX IS just software. The hardware is MADE to support it.
Yes i do know what algorithim is.
Have you seen any GAMES use OpenGL in the fast few years? No. Why? BEcasue it was buggy as ****. Everytime somebody used OpenGL all ive heard is complaints this and that. And this is coming from somebody who has used OpenGL from its early stages on the Voodoo3. Also, yes it is a product. Something thats made for the regular consumer is a PRODUCT. Have you taken Economics? ITs one of the first things you learn. Also, when your rendering a movie, it is mostly using directdraw, not openGL. If i ever saw a movie using OpenGL it better **** well be good, because it would have the best special effects ever.
Now after that being said, you have to take into consideration that support for OpenGL will not be included in DX10, it will be software emulated. Since we where talking about programs and games anyway, i figured i would add that in there.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 12:38 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Have you seen any GAMES use OpenGL in the fast few years? No.
The Doom3 Engine is OpenGL.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 12:57 AM   #19 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/video/d...525104034.html
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-19-2006, 01:17 AM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
The Doom3 Engine is OpenGL.

Yep, so is UT2k4 and so will UT2k7.


Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Hm considering that Vista isnt running on DX10 yet you wouldnt know now would you? DX IS just software. The hardware is MADE to support it.
Further proving my point that old video cards can't get "updated" to use it.

Thanks for the info.

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Yes i do know what algorithim is.
O RLY? What is it?

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Have you seen any GAMES use OpenGL in the fast few years? No. Why? BEcasue it was buggy as ****.
Hmm, let's see, first we'll start with ALL games from the following consoles:
N64, Game Cube, PS, PS2, PSP, Dreamcast, soon to be PS3 and Nintendo Wii, and some games for Xbox and Xbox 360 (Games like Doom 3)

Computer games: Quake 2, Quake 3, RTCW, WolfET, Quake 4, Doom 3, UT2k4, the list goes on. Here are some in the future: ET: Quake Wars, UT2k7 just to name a couple.

ID Software (That's right, the BEST computer game manufacturer in the world) ONLY uses OpenGL.

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Everytime somebody used OpenGL all ive heard is complaints this and that. And this is coming from somebody who has used OpenGL from its early stages on the Voodoo3.
Okay? So you heard it from a guy who used it in the dark ages of the Voodoo 3?

Awesome! Lets talk about how great DirectX was back then!

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Also, yes it is a product. Something thats made for the regular consumer is a PRODUCT.
OpenGL is NOT a product. It does NOT cost money. I can NOT go buy it at a store. It is NOT an object.

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Have you taken Economics? ITs one of the first things you learn.
Lol, don't talk to me about economics, kid.

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Also, when your rendering a movie, it is mostly using directdraw, not openGL. If i ever saw a movie using OpenGL it better **** well be good, because it would have the best special effects ever.
I don't think I've ever seen a movie where special effects were rendered using DirectX... Can you list a few for me? Thanks.

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Now after that being said, you have to take into consideration that support for OpenGL will not be included in DX10, it will be software emulated.
It never has been. DirectX is not some all encompassing power like you make it out to be.

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Since we where talking about programs and games anyway, i figured i would add that in there.

Add what in here? The fact that not only to OpenGL games have a bigger market share (as in ALL OS's CAN SUPPORT THEM) and DirectX continues to have poorer graphics and poorer performance, OpenGL FTW!

All I have to say about DX10 is that MS had BETTER get their act together, as all these DX games as of yet are terrible.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct3D_vs._OpenGL

Read that, then come talk to me about OpenGL, buddy.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.