Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2007, 03:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Question Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards

Aside from the price of most of the higher end cards (such as the 8800 and 8600?) this is a large piece of equipment that I may go out on a limb for. A friend mentioned that the direct x10 won't be in full effect unless i get vista. the exact words are

"cant use that vid card fully for direct x 10 games on xp."

is this true? will i or should i spend yet another 300 dollars on an operating system to recieve the full 'force' of the new graphics card?
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 03:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards

actually vista is only like 89 bucks...Im getting xp instead of vista...way too many performance/compatability issues with vista for me as I said in a previosu thread...I can only pray dx10 patch comes for vista
__________________

Gabb is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 03:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards

Maybe future games with Dx10 will be only compatible with vista. Getting the 8800 just makes your video card future ready. But I'd stick with XP unless they can fix the vista compatibility issues. The world is too set into XP already.
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 04:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards

It is rumored that SP3 for XP will inlcude a Dx10 patch. I dont know for sure tho.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 09:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards

If that happens, I'm stickin' with my XP. I also heard of a 3rd party creating a DX10 emulator for XP.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 09:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards

I would wait until the games come out before making the purchase to see if you need vista or not if you already have XP. For now you will get better performance with XP.
jakebrick is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 11:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by jakebrick View Post
I would wait until the games come out before making the purchase to see if you need vista or not if you already have XP. For now you will get better performance with XP.
y would u buy another copy of windows xp when u already got a copy??
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 12:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards

I just "Got" vista ultimate, and i'm happy with it
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 06:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
It is rumored that SP3 for XP will inlcude a Dx10 patch. I dont know for sure tho.
that would be beyond sexy, but i think theyre allready some beta tests in progress for dx10 xp emulators, but theyre having hella problems. there are allready games out that will only run on vista, (halo 2 [i think]) but id wait on a service pack later this year for vista to work out alot of the issues.

Also, the vista drives for alot of video cards are kinda weak compared to their xp counterparts. wait on vista for now i think...especially for gaming purposes. (or atleast until a game you really want thats dx10 only comes out)

Worst case scenario.....you dual boot.
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 07:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 235
Default Re: Direct x10 in New Graphics Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riznarf View Post
that would be beyond sexy, but i think theyre allready some beta tests in progress for dx10 xp emulators, but theyre having hella problems. there are allready games out that will only run on vista, (halo 2 [i think]) but id wait on a service pack later this year for vista to work out alot of the issues.

Also, the vista drives for alot of video cards are kinda weak compared to their xp counterparts. wait on vista for now i think...especially for gaming purposes. (or atleast until a game you really want thats dx10 only comes out)

Worst case scenario.....you dual boot.
yeah mate, time will tell really. there are a lot of big plans for DX10, but which of them will actually come about is anyones guess. id say stick with xp until something comes out that you really wanna play. by then, there may wel be an xp patch or something similar
__________________

plant is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Won't go onto Windows Logon or Accounts through graphics card, but will on shared gfx Linked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-28-2007 09:04 PM
Newbie w/ Graphics Questions Grizzlyb34r New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-09-2007 08:45 AM
Free Graphics ? OzzyClass Web Graphics and Design 0 04-22-2007 07:50 PM
Graphics Cards AZNRockThis Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 04-14-2007 01:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.