direct x10?? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2006, 04:43 PM   #41 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

I looked up Windows Presentation Foundation and Direct X on Wikipedia. And found this: "According to Microsoft, DirectX 10 will be able to display graphics up to 8 times more quickly than DirectX 9.0c. However, DirectX 10 will not be backward compatible with current versions of DirectX, so computer games made for DirectX 10 will not function on any other model of DirectX. In addition, DirectX 10 will incorporate Microsoft Shader Model 4.0."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DirectX...ure_of_DirectX

Wow, that sucks that they wont be compatible. Weren't DirectX 7,8,9 compatible?
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 07:47 PM   #42 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

That just means that you won't be able to use DX10 graphics with DX9 cards. DX9 cards WILL work with DX10 games. For it to be any other way would be MAJORLY stupid and it would also be stupid to assume that it would be so.

Also, I hope you're aware that anyone can change Wikipedia, so you have to be careful. For most things, its fine. But when it comes to such opinionated stuff like computers, caution is suggested.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 11:22 PM   #43 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
That just means that you won't be able to use DX10 graphics with DX9 cards. DX9 cards WILL work with DX10 games. For it to be any other way would be MAJORLY stupid and it would also be stupid to assume that it would be so.

Also, I hope you're aware that anyone can change Wikipedia, so you have to be careful. For most things, its fine. But when it comes to such opinionated stuff like computers, caution is suggested.
Actually, two versions of every game will have to be released for a while, one DX9 for XP and one DX10 for Vista. There will be no "defaulting back to DX9" because the two versions of DX are not compatable. Most likely they will both be on the same DVD or even 2 DVDs though, to avoid confusion.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:34 AM   #44 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Actually, two versions of every game will have to be released for a while, one DX9 for XP and one DX10 for Vista. There will be no "defaulting back to DX9" because the two versions of DX are not compatable. Most likely they will both be on the same DVD or even 2 DVDs though, to avoid confusion.
I think we've established that DX10 software isn't compatible with DX9 software. But will DX10 cards be able to run at DX9?
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:54 AM   #45 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
I think we've established that DX10 software isn't compatible with DX9 software. But will DX10 cards be able to run at DX9?
I heard that DX9 will have to be emulated through DX10 to run older games, which sucks because that means decreased performance.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 01:02 AM   #46 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

I'm glad I'm not upgrading for a while. Luckily I don't have an addiction to F.E.A.R.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 03:49 AM   #47 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

guess my Summer 06' build will have to wait.... : ( Can't miss out on DX10 fun! and maybe M2? I'll just end up never building a new one. lol. Just keep saving and saving. I'm so confused. I hate technology sometimes... "I think i need a hug"
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 06:38 AM   #48 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

Quote:
Either He's wrong, or whoever He's getting his info from is wrong. This is Windows Vista Ultimate;
Your quotes nice but where did you get it from eh?
Quote:
I heard that DX9 will have to be emulated through DX10 to run older games, which sucks because that means decreased performance.
Most things that are emulated IE ePSXe have beter performance than the real thing so idk where your getting decreased performance from. I look at it this way, the solution to fix all your delimas has been answered many times. I do it w/ Win95/98/DOS games all the time. Have 2 machines PPL!!! One Vista and one XP. Im sure if you can have a PII and a A64 3500+ at the same time then later on down the road when M2 comes out S939 will be ALOT cheaper and you can have both. Quit making this situation alot worse than it actualy is. My dad is sitting here saying he remembers this same babble going on about DOS and Win95.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 01:26 PM   #49 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

And I remember the same thing going on with DX9. What happened? Did all DX8 cards go kaput when DX9 came out?

Chill out people. Microsoft isn't THAT stupid. They wouldn't make 90% of the planet's hardware obsolete, and they wouldn't make Windows Vista without DX10. They also wouldn't make 2 versions of every single game. I don't know if you realize how stupid that sounded...two versions of each game...Do you guys ever think about what you say?

I guess this is what happens when teenagers are too much into Hardware. Go to [H]ardForums or Anandtech Forums and see what real men talk like.
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 02:04 PM   #50 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

Actualy you should say what real geeks talk like lol.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.