dimension E510 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2006, 03:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
siddanth3's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default dimension E510

i have a dimension E510 and i juist upgrade to a evga 7900 gs. the dimension E510 case has only one fan in the entire case, and i am kind of worried that my system is getting over heated. i have looked insde but there is no place to put another fan in . what should i do. any suggestions. anyone have a dimension 510 that can help me,. t

this is how it looks inside


siddanth3 is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

put a 92mm/120mm fan in the back lowing outward for the air flow... other than that.. unless you have some good cutting skills to put a side fan on... nothing


Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
j12's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133

if you're really worried about heat problems. get a rotozip. cut a hole in the top of ur case for the exhaust fan. and cut another hole in the side panel for an intake fan. both fans should be 120mm. that will be excellent cooling for ur rig.

MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
lancec2c30's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30

or dont get the rotozip ( They really kinda suck) and get a dremel (cheaper) to do the same thing.

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.