Dilemma! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2007, 08:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 52
Default Dilemma!

Which is a better choice:

1. Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 processor and 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz RAM

OR

2. Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 processor and 2x1GB DDR2 667MHz RAM

I can choose either of them, i.e., I can't choose both: 800MHz RAM and E6400 processor.

Please help me

Tell me which is a better choice....
__________________

rokza is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 11:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

The first one defendant
__________________

__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

First, since the ram is top of the line and the cpu is upgradeable in the future.
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 03:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Neither,

E4300 and 2GB of the cheapest DDR2-800 stuff you can find. I still would always recommend getting G.Skill memory.

The E4300 will overclock higher speeds than the E6300 but it's x9 multiplier makes it easier to overclock since you don't need as good of RAM. This is also the cheaper choice.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 09:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 52
Default

Some people told me there's barely any difference between a DDR2 667MHz RAM and a DDR2 800MHz RAM. Is it true? If so, then why are you'll reccomending the first option?
Basically, I want to choose the option that will help my PC run faster.

@dawizhacker
Isn't it possible to upgrade RAM in the future?

@Sora
I haven't over clocked in my life! (so how I depend on over clocking?)
Even if I learn how to over clock, I doubt I'll be able to get the E4300 processor to speeds that you'll can over clock it to and also, the E4300 doesn't support virtualizing.
rokza is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 52
Default

BUMP~*** no reply yet!
rokza is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 12:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

RAM speed does not directly affect your CPU speed, as the mhz itself. if you have ram that can run at 600mhz and your only running your CPU at 350mhz, this forces your RAM to run at 350mhz as well.


If you don't overclock ever then really all you need is 533mhz RAM for a C2D but the problem is that you will eventually want to overclock a Core 2 Duo as it's safe and they overclock amazing. Not only that DDR2-800 will be more full proof than DDR2-677 and deffinatly more than DDR2-533. Go with DDR2-800.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 03:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

If you ever do decide to overclock 800mhz ram is prefered. But in your case if you decide never to oc, get ddr2 667mhz.

Or if the timings on the 800mhz stuff is faster than on the 667. Get the 6300 and 800mhz stuff. You arent going to see a huge performance increase between the e6300 and e6400.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 04:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 52
Default

@ lancec2c30 and Sora
Thx! that helped
rokza is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 12:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
You arent going to see a huge performance increase between the e6300 and e6400.

EXACTLY!! You actually won't notice any difference except the 40 bucks that isn't in your wallet anymore.
__________________

Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.