Dilemma... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2007, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Unhappy Dilemma...

I'm stuck between buying a E6300 and a E6600. I would prefer a E6420 but they aren't supposed to be released till Q2 and i have been waiting since november for this build. I would appreciate comments on what you think would be the better choice.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 :

Pros:
Great OCablity
Cheap
65 nm Process

Cons:
Only 2mb cache


Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 :

Pros:
4 MB cache
Faster Clock Speeds

Cons:
Very Expensive - £80 more expensive than the E6300
__________________

M0rga is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 03:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

E6600 is obviously the better choice. The 4MB cache is what it is all about, and has served to be about the mid-range of the E6xxx line. However, the E6300 will suit you depending on what you plan on doing with your machine.
__________________

__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 06:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

QUOTED FROM ANOTHER THREAD POSTED BY ME:

well ... my A+ teacher made a valid point.. l2 cache looks at what you are doing and predicts what you are going to need next. Now 99% of the time its right and speeds up the system but somtimes it can be wrong so it has to flush it all out and then reload it..

so if you have 2mb it loads less but if it messes up it will have to load less... now 4mb it loads double compared to 2mb so if it messes up it will have to reload it and it would take more time..

i say get the 6300 now.... you can upgrade when the time comes... but if you want and have the money now... go ahead get the 6600 but you can oc the 6300 to crazzzyyy speedzzz
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 08:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 75
Default

It's a gaming PC which i hope will last a few years. I can afford a E6600 it's just that i'm not sure the higher clock and larger cache is worth the extra £80. The cost of my system is already getting steep and i don't want to spend vast amounts of money.

I'm a complete noob when it comes to OCing does anyone no any good sites i could read for advice? Also with the money saved if i go for the 6300, should i buy a good after market fan?
M0rga is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 08:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default

Just go e6300 then. It OC's like a champ so you'd be fine for a long time
__________________
AMD 3400+ 2.4GHz
1GB DDR Crucial RAM
WD 120GB(2x)/250GB
BoysNightOut is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 10:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

well hit up tf's own ocing section some good links there.. and its not that hard to do .. but to get it perfect that takes some skill....
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.