Different brand ram in different channels - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2008, 10:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 38
Default Different brand ram in different channels

I'm 99% sure this is ok but i just thought i'd just check.

I have 2x1GB OCZ 800mhz ddr2 running dual channel. The OCZ ram that i bought has gone back up to its original price so i'm thinking of buying another 2 1gb 800mhz ddr2 sticks of ram from a different brand like geil.

I know it's not a good idea to mix two different brands of ram in the same channel but will it be ok to mix two different brands of ram on the same mobo as long as each channel sticks to one brand?

Eg channel 1: 2x1gb OCZ 800mhz ddr2
channel 2: 2x1gb geil 800mhz ddr2

ttoadish is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 10:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default Re: Different brand ram in different channels

You should be fine. Just as long as the same channel sticks are the same.

luke87 is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 01:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Different brand ram in different channels

They won't clash, unless you don't put on Dual Channel
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
TheOtis's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Different brand ram in different channels

I think aslong as they run at the same voltage, timings, and speed you're ok. It's not recomended, but you should be fine.
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flip Left and Right Channels VegaObscura Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-10-2008 03:59 AM
any tech tv channels? KrYpToNiC Off Topic Discussion 8 01-18-2008 01:31 AM
/3GB switch, serious problems Forze Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-26-2007 12:54 PM
Conjacent Channels on Wireless murdocsvan Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 09-28-2007 07:08 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.