difference between e6600 and e6320 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2007, 08:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Arrow difference between e6600 and e6320

hey guys. i am just curious about the difference between e6600 and e6320. initially with factory settings, the ghz may be different, but what if both are overclocked to the same speed, for instance 3ghz. which one would perform better and what would be the difference. would there be a difference at all?
coz they both have 4m cache now, and i cant tell the difference.

so if u experts could clarify this situation, that would be awesome.

thanks
__________________

siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 08:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: difference between e6600 and e6320

There wouldn't really be a difference, if both were clocked to 3.0GHz. Actually since the multiplier on the e6320 is at 7(428x7=3000MHz), the FSB would be at 428MHz. With the e6600's multiplier at 9(333x9=3000MHz, the FSB would run at 333MHz. So the e6320, would be better, because the FSB is higher.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 08:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: difference between e6600 and e6320

so ur sayin, if they are overclocked to the same speed, there wouldnt be any difference in performance??
oh i think i understand, but could u explain it in a simpler way. i am still a newb.
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 08:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: difference between e6600 and e6320

the names are different!!
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 08:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: difference between e6600 and e6320

They are the same if you overclocked them. Technically the E6320 would be faster. Since you are a noob, in short the answer to your question is.
THEY WOULD BE EXACTLY THE SAME
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 08:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: difference between e6600 and e6320

OK, to get the e6320 to 3.0GHz, you would have to set the FSB to 428MHz. Since it's multiplier is 7, you multiply the FSB and the multiplier to get the speed of the e6320. Like this:

428MHz x 7 = 3.0GHz

With the e6600, you would have to set the FSB to 333MHz, in order to have the e6600 run at 3.0GHz. And it's multiplier is 9, so:

333MHz x 9 = 3.0GHz

Technically as j12 said, the e6320 is faster, due to the higher FSB speed. But theres no big difference between the two processors, at that speed.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: difference between e6600 and e6320

oh, now i see ur point. thanks a lot. one more question. i was thinking of building a system in august after the price drop of the quad cores. so how much difference is there between the cheapest quad core and the e6600. is there a lot of difference?. coz if in july the quads are cheaper, then the c2d would be a lot cheaper wouldnt it?
what would make sence, building a cheapest quad core rig or a cheapest c2d build?
thanks
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: difference between e6600 and e6320

well depends on ur point of view... from an entusiast's point of view the e6320 is better(high FSB and low multiplier) but from a regular person is the same thing
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: difference between e6600 and e6320

The E6320 wouldn't necessarily be faster since with a higher FSB, you might have to use the next northbridge strap (depending on your mobo), reducing performance.

But.. you shouldn't worry about that . If you're only going to 3ghz, the E6320 is the best choice. If you want a more then moderate overclock (maybe 3.4+), an E6600 might be better
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: difference between e6600 and e6320

well, i am not limiting my self to only 3ghz. i want the highest possible overclock which is stable for my system.. it may be higher then a 3ghz or even may be lower. i dont kno yet. i was just wondering which would overclock to the highest?
__________________

siddanth3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.