Difference between AMD and Intel? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2009, 04:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Difference between AMD and Intel?

That's exactly what it means.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 04:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Difference between AMD and Intel?

I don't understand what it means....could you perhaps....dumb it up a little bit
__________________

Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 04:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Difference between AMD and Intel?

It means if you have 1 card you get x16 speed and if you have 2 cards they each have x8 speeds.

Keep in mind that the board you have will only run 2 ati cards in crossfirex, 1 ati or 1 nvidia card. It will not run 2 nvidia cards in sli. Since ati is better bang for your buck right now that is not a problem. If you did want sli you would need to choose another board.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 04:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Difference between AMD and Intel?

^^ What he said...

The PCIE 8's are the smaller sockets, the PCIE x16's are the larger ones.. 2.0 is just the series (IIRC)..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 04:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Difference between AMD and Intel?

I think I might understand it...so I could have two of these graphics cards: Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR AX4850 1GBD3-PH Radeon HD 4850 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards and plug them into the PCIe 2.0 x 16 slots but they'd just be running at x8 each?

Would a normal SLI or crossfire run at x16 each?

Why can I only run crossfire and not SLI?
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 04:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Difference between AMD and Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antec-User View Post
The PCIE 8's are the smaller sockets, the PCIE x16's are the larger ones.. 2.0 is just the series (IIRC)..
arent the smaller slots supposed to be pci-e x1?

my understanding is that if you use just one of the x16 slots, the full bandwidth will be available to the card.
by using dual gfx cards and using both the x16 slots, the available bandwidth will go down to half (x8) for both slots.

but you should only notice a few fps in gameplay difference by running cards at x8/x8 vs mobos that support full x16/x16 for dual cards.

you can only run xfire on that asus mobo you linked because it has an amd chipset.

you need a mobo with an nvidia chipset,
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131367
intel p55 chipset,
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-405-_-Product
x58 (which supports both xfire and sli)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-039-_-Product
and some other intel chipsets that support sli but i dont know them.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 05:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Difference between AMD and Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
arent the smaller slots supposed to be pci-e x1?

my understanding is that if you use just one of the x16 slots, the full bandwidth will be available to the card.
by using dual gfx cards and using both the x16 slots, the available bandwidth will go down to half (x8) for both slots.
Indeed, this is correct. x8 is the speed, not the size of the slot.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 05:51 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Difference between AMD and Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber_Ducky View Post
could you perhaps....dumb it up a little bit
Ok. So i know what dumbing down is, but what is dumbing up?
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 07:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Difference between AMD and Intel?

Lol. I have no idea...I meant down but apparently I was thinking up...

Thanks for the input everyone. I think I'm ready to put up all the parts to make sure they're compatible. Here they are:

Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811112218

Processor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103656

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-392-_-Product

Graphics Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814131163

Power Supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341016

Memory: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231193

DVD Burner: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827118030

Hard Drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136073


I just need to make sure they're compatible and I need to make sure the cooling is sufficient. I'm thinking this case may be too compact. I mean, if you look at the pictures, the case and everything is backwards...the case opens on the wrong side, the power supply is on the lower front (i believe...nowhere else for it to go...tell me if im wrong)...and I can't see where they think the 2nd fan is. Anyway, I'd appreciate any input or suggestions on this.
Night Fox is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 11:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Difference between AMD and Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aliasaid View Post
Ok. So i know what dumbing down is, but what is dumbing up?
I think that's when you are supposed to make something MORE complicated than it actually is.. "seeing as X3 = X.X.X that would mean that (x+3)3 would be X3+21." Uuuugh, and so fourth...
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Few options for upgrade... stay with AMD? Switch to Intel? M4A1 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-10-2009 12:07 AM
Intel lawsuit from AMD pushed to 2010, Intel Monopoly! Wildside Polls 30 06-24-2008 05:28 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.