Didnt hook up my stuff :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2006, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Didnt hook up my stuff :(

hey guys.. i took my PC in to the local shop here today to get a new power supply in it. I got an Enermax Noisetaker2 600W installed.. but they didnt hook up my fans and lights.. is my PC gonna get too hot??

PS.. i would do it myself if i knew how, but im a PC noOb for the most part
__________________

dave39 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Then go back and complain to them :classic:

At least it looks like they plugged in the CPU heatsink and GPU heatsink cause then it would just fry
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

well just look for the fans connectors, will be a 4 pin (has four pins in it)
then the power supply will have a bunsh of wires coming out of it. find a plug on the PS with for pins and plug them together. then to make sure you plugged them in right just turn on the pc and listen for them.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

You're never gonna learn if you dont gets some hands on experience.

EDIT: when i built my first computer ever, i didnt even know a what a gfx card was.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 09:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

everything's gonna be keyed or color coded, yup, experimentation is the best education for this business.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 10:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=108120

here you go... read thru this and it'll help you out!
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 07:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Personally, If I was you i'd take it back and complain. They took the responsibility of upgrading your PC and you paid them for it, they are liable to return the PC in proper working order.

Take it back. Tell them to reconnect the proper fans, lights ETC...
If they refuse... crap on the floor.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 10:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Jeezuz! What the heck is wrong with those people?!? What kind of fly-by-night shenanigans run a shop like that?

This is a prime example of why we should all know our own PCs and Rigs. This would be a prime time to initiate yourself into the PC building/upgrading community. Just make sure that you do some research, and never replace the case cover(s) until you have powered on the system, passed the POST (Power On Self Test) and the Operating System has loaded. Not doing so will invoke Murphy's law. Also, don't work inside the case when the power is on or the PSU is plugged in just to be on the safe side.

Jeez, at least go give those boneheads a verbal thrashing, they could have ruined your system!
__________________

__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.