Did the Q9550 Just drop $200?... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2008, 03:35 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Did the Q9550 Just drop $200?...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaV II DARK II View Post
How faw can you OC the new q6600?

I just bought one a couple days ago
You better not whine about it (I tell everybody this now, I'm fed up about people whining then questioning my tech skill when they get a bad batch Quad and can't get them past 3.4ghz)... but 3.0 to 3.2ghz
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 01:21 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Did the Q9550 Just drop $200?...

Wait, so are yall telling me that my q6600 that will run 3.6ghz at 1.4v is worth more than a normal q6600? Ooooo, maybe i'll sell it with that in mind Highest stable overclock ive gotten was 4ghz, but thats on water at 1.6v, which, well, isnt very good for 24/7 usage. Still, i must resist buying anything else until nehalem.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 01:27 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Did the Q9550 Just drop $200?...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hickfarm View Post
LOL just bend a pin and say it is no good and get your money back. IDK if that work. Anyways ya i would RMA it anyways.
lol intel S775 chips don't have pins, the pins are on the socket.


and to the op and and nagasama, you should get a Q9650 since it's the E0 stepping
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 01:47 PM   #24 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Did the Q9550 Just drop $200?...

ouch too rich for my blood. maybe after nehalem makes them plumment in price.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 01:51 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Did the Q9550 Just drop $200?...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
lol intel S775 chips don't have pins, the pins are on the socket.


and to the op and and nagasama, you should get a Q9650 since it's the E0 stepping
That's an extra $220. Tempting, but I know I'll upgrade soon enough with the Nehalem. So todays my last day to send my Q9450 back. Gotta get that done.

Gay I RMA it as defective and I still get a $50 restocking fee? It's not my fault they sent me one with a broken thermal sensor...
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 07:54 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Did the Q9550 Just drop $200?...

Use the online customer support, i had to rma 2 motherboards and got both of them changed to refund without restocking fee due to being defective.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 07:56 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Did the Q9550 Just drop $200?...

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Wait, so are yall telling me that my q6600 that will run 3.6ghz at 1.4v is worth more than a normal q6600? Ooooo, maybe i'll sell it with that in mind Highest stable overclock ive gotten was 4ghz, but thats on water at 1.6v, which, well, isnt very good for 24/7 usage. Still, i must resist buying anything else until nehalem.
Yes that's what it means

That's a good Vantage point.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 08:05 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Did the Q9550 Just drop $200?...

doing 3.6 with C1E / EIST @ 1.37v. Love the idling at 2.4Ghz
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-11-2008, 08:59 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Did the Q9550 Just drop $200?...

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Use the online customer support, i had to rma 2 motherboards and got both of them changed to refund without restocking fee due to being defective.
Thank you! This little piece of information made that so much easier. The rep quickly removed the restocking fee and even gave me a shipping label to send it back free of charge. I can't wait to receive my Q9550.
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 08-12-2008, 07:50 AM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Did the Q9550 Just drop $200?...

i just got a q6600 for a customer. vid of 1.2850 ( kinda high) and this thing o/c's like a caterpillar on a sunday. i have a TRUE eith tx-2 and a kaze fan (80 odd cfm) on a bout 1.38125v or sumthin its stable (hour stable). i really wanna see if i can get it to 3.8-4 but he really wnats it soon so i might have to forget it. but this is a new chip, and its great! ohh yeah and im gettin
about 32c idle which is perfect, i ve got a similar cooling solution lines up for my black eidtion wen it gets here, so hopefully thats a great o/cer too.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Price drop for Q9550 has happend maroon1 New Technology and Products 12 08-13-2008 12:56 PM
How to Read MS "pFirewall.txt" file, and IP deciphering SpenceQ Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 01-25-2008 04:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.