Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260? - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2009, 05:40 PM   #51 (permalink)
Monster Techie
meat_helmet's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

Originally Posted by King$nake View Post
Im thinking i7, moohaha. The wife is ****ed tho, lol

If I get a GTX285, i7 Processor & i7 Motherboard, and atleast 4 Gigs of Ram....I should be able to run everything under the sun, even if its completely maxed out, right?

They are the specs of my rig, and unless your planning to run crazy reolutions, yes it will play anything. I max out crysis with 4xAA at 1680x1050 and its extremely smooth, with high enough fps to play multiplayer (i admit i havent run frams to find out exact fps). If you went up to 1900x1200 im sure you could play at 2xAA comfortably.

GTA4 also runs very smoothly, and the settings i have are very high (its max settings are completely ridiculous and would need a gpu with 4GB of ram) as already stated its coding is very poor, it doesnt even have AA - its not possible.

Safe to say that rig will play anything on a 22inch screen.

meat_helmet is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 06:55 PM   #52 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
^ UT3 aint that hard to max out

OP: do you have the latest crysis patch installed? i know that fixed crappy performance on my PC.
This is true, but that is nice looking game, and I have a mid-level card of 3 yrs ago, by now it's about as low as they come.

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 07:58 PM   #53 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Druid's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

I'm at 1920x1200, and I can do the 2AA, but I like it better without it. I get like an extra 2 or 3 fps, and that makes enough of a difference in Crysis.

CPU: Intel Core i7 920
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
260 gtx Vs. 280 gtx skiki New Systems | Building and Buying 15 02-08-2009 12:51 PM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 08:09 PM
GTX 260 or 4870? Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 09-09-2008 05:04 PM
ATI Radeon 4800 forces Nvidia to make price cuts for GTX 260, 280 Redmo0n Polls 2 07-04-2008 11:02 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.