Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2009, 04:48 PM   #41 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_helmet View Post
Enermax is quite a decent brand actually. Although it does depend a bit on which series you have. Its amazing how many members there are here with hundreds of posts that still haven't read this:

http://www.techist.com/forums/f76/re...-guide-137927/
I've looked at that before, but I just kinda scanned it over. I never committed it to memory. Truthfully, I forgot about it. I just knew that pc building 2.0 thread recommended the three brands I mentioned. Anyway, sorry about that.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 04:57 PM   #42 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
Well everything looks fine there....so I dunno.
Im thinking i7, moohaha. The wife is ****ed tho, lol

If I get a GTX285, i7 Processor & i7 Motherboard, and atleast 4 Gigs of Ram....I should be able to run everything under the sun, even if its completely maxed out, right?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 04:58 PM   #43 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

Have you ran benchmark scores?

Run 3d-mark and get your score. This will be your best check, and to see the difference, put your old card back in and run it again.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 04:59 PM   #44 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

Quote:
Originally Posted by King$nake View Post
Im thinking i7, moohaha. The wife is ****ed tho, lol

If I get a GTX285, i7 Processor & i7 Motherboard, and atleast 4 Gigs of Ram....I should be able to run everything under the sun, even if its completely maxed out, right?

Thanks
You're going to want tri-channel ram, so you're going to want to go with 3 or 6 GB.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 05:06 PM   #45 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Druid View Post
You're going to want tri-channel ram, so you're going to want to go with 3 or 6 GB.
Ok, if I get 6x gig of ram, I should be all set for any game, ya?
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 05:11 PM   #46 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

There are still games that bring top rigs to their knees. Such as Crysis and GTA IV.....the problem is not so much hardware power as coding that must cater to a wide range of setups and unfortunate Xbox ports.

You setup should not be particularly slow, so I'm not sure what's going on. If I were you I would upgrade my monitor first, gaming at 1920x1200 or 2048x1152 is awesome and you'll really see the difference between different GPUs that that res.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 05:14 PM   #47 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

Thanks for the reply. Is 1680x1050 the highest res I can go with a 22"? Now I want to upgrade my monitor too!!! agh
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 05:19 PM   #48 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

There are some 1920x1080 21.5" monitors.

Newegg.com - SAMSUNG 2233SW High Glossy Black 21.5" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 DC 15000:1(1000:1) w/ HDCP Support - LCD Monitors
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 05:27 PM   #49 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

Your setup is fine. Maybe you don't have the newest drivers, something is installed wrong, or you have a virus. But your rig is very high-powered. Heck, I can max out unreal tournament 3 on this piece of crap. It could also be your PSU, I've read that your sytem can really get slow if your psu is starting to go bad, or is bad. I really don't think you need to spend all that money yet tho.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 05:36 PM   #50 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Did I make a mistake buying this GTX 260?

^ UT3 aint that hard to max out

OP: do you have the latest crysis patch installed? i know that fixed crappy performance on my PC.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
260 gtx Vs. 280 gtx skiki New Systems | Building and Buying 15 02-08-2009 01:51 PM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
GTX 260 or 4870? Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 09-09-2008 06:04 PM
ATI Radeon 4800 forces Nvidia to make price cuts for GTX 260, 280 Redmo0n Polls 2 07-05-2008 12:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.