Did I get in the game late? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2007, 04:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by psp_crazy1
update RAM, ddr is like vomit compared to dd2. I had 512 MB ddr RAm before i updated to ddr2 corsair. freaking huge difference. get new mobo/ram/cpu. then your set!

DDR2 is about 4-7 percent more efficient. It's not THAT much better. However it is better. And corsair is its own entity, its quality built ram. You could put 30G's into your Ten thousand dollar Civic or you could buy a 40,000 BMW.. make sense?
__________________

__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 05:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

personally, I'd just get a better video card. 7950 GT's are quite affordable now.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 06:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by psp_crazy1
update RAM, ddr is like vomit compared to dd2. I had 512 MB ddr RAm before i updated to ddr2 corsair. freaking huge difference. get new mobo/ram/cpu. then your set!
there is like a 5-10% performance increase between ddr and ddr2
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 07:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
if you got something like this then you would be set... s939 is still a good setup as Trotter has said.

AMD Opteron 175 Denmark 2.2GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket 939
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103583

CORSAIR XMS 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145576

ZALMAN CNPS7700-ALCU 120mm 2 Ball CPU Cooling Fan/Heatsink
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118114

The only reason I suggest the cooling is Opteron's run slightly hotter than regular Athlon's. but it's worth it.
i like this set up as well, but i suggest a opteron 165
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103588

its cheaper and will overclock as high as a 170 will, in most cases.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.