DFI Lanparty - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2005, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default DFI Lanparty

I was just looking at the Lanparty UT nF Ultra-D http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152 compared to http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136151 my Lanparty nF4 SLI-DR
If the the UT nF4 Ultra-D isnt SLI, why does it also have 2 PCIE Slots on it?


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 02:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458

You can use a video card that is PCI-E without useing SLI. Some ATI cards come PCI-E but ATI doesn't support SLI, it uses it's own technology called Crossfire. Anywho...just because it has a PCI-E slot doesn't mean you HAVE to use SLI. PCI-E > AGP


I have no idea why a board that has two PCI-E slots doesn't support SLI. Maybe if one goes you have a backup?

<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 03:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

You can run SLI on it. With the right software, SLI can be run without a bridge (just two slots).
turtile is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 03:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Hefemeister's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093

Thats interesting. Looking at pics of the board it has the jumpers between the pcix16 slots that dfi uses for sli. It also has the nfoce4 chipset which supports sli. I would say it does support sli off the visuals. But then it does not say it does. very interesting.
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.