DFI LanParty... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2005, 06:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 124
Default

They have two because the first one always breaks........ I came home and the nforce one is dead (top) so I just the marvell (bottom)
__________________

__________________
http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/2982/email2aq.png
[size=1]New build
dfi lanparty sli-dr
amd x2 3800+
evga 7800GTX
2 gigs (2 x 1gig) ocz ram
500 gigs (250gb x2) seagate hard drive
RAID 0
Windows XP Home Edition
mooseman is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 06:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default

i would think a router would be easier...becuase you can have more than 2 people at the lan...unless they had the same mobo..
__________________

__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 10:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

get your local cable provider and you local DSL provider and have twice the bandwidth!
The General is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 04:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

that would be sweeet.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 05:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

ITs just for the sole purpose of bragging rights saying you have 2 lan adapters onboard. You can do anything w/ them.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 06:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

i still say 2x bandwith would rule..... could that worK?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

lol no,


But seriously, how would someone get this to work? I wanna try this out too.

My friend usually brings his PC over to my place for weekends and we 2-man lan it up for a night, its a pain running another network cable downstairs to my wireless network router so he could get internet. My motherboard has a built in LAN port too, but I use a USB wireless G adapter for internet, how would I connect his computer to my computer and share internet? This would be ALOT easier.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:34 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to socav
Default

So you have a wireless card, and an ethernet port. Your friend has an ethernet port. Is that right?

If so, couldn't you just use ICS?
socav is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 08:55 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BColes
or you can stick the second network cable into the power outlet!
yeah I'm gonna try that
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 09:00 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

lol me too
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.