DFI complexity - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2005, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Default DFI complexity

I have heard that the DFI lan party boards are hard to set up and are very complicated. I was just wondering if you guys had any info or opinions on the DFI board.

thanks
__________________

jake14430 is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 07:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well theres nothing complicated about the dfi boards,i myself think that dfi is good. they are also recommended for overclockers
and the boards them self are very stable.
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

No different than setting up any other board really...install your basic drivers and then you may need to tweak things to get them to work well but that's what you'd expect with any board

The end user configurations and seemingly limitless BIOS settings may seem complicated but they really aren't and DFI has gone out of their way to make it quite user friendly...it's by far the easiest board I've ever overclocked with period...more options = more flexibility which is always easier to troubleshoot and configure IMO

Besides that dfi-street.com has rgone and angrygames who work for DFI and test and report/fix any bugs with the board...they've already covered about every FAQ known to man there and anything else you simply have to ask about and you'll get an answer
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 07:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

oh yeah if you do get a DFI mobo dont download the IDE drivers or the nvidia firewall and like the SMBUs drivers, they screwed me over and i had to reformat my hdd and lost all my data

but yeah i went from an MSI mobo to a DFI i saw a big difference, lots of options which are great, but i usually dont touch those, i just keep them at default and use the ones im familiar with
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 07:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

thats true....I'm trying myself to decide on a motherboard for a 3800 X2 right now....
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 07:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I'm using the nvidia smbus and ide drivers without any problems. with the 6.70 forceware.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.