Desperately seeking expert upgrade advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Degr8

Solid State Member
I thought I had a good rig untill I started playing BF2142.

My current setup:
Asus A8v (revision 2.0) (latest Bios)
AMD xp 64 3500+ 939 (venice core)
Ati x850 xt Platinum Edition 256mb AGP
2 gig's of Corsair DDR PC3200
Orion xp400 power supply

Not sure which way to go:

I could upgrade my cpu to AMD X2 4800+, but is this going to make a huge difference with the rest of my setup?

Or should I put that money towards a new AM2 mobo with pci express?
The problem is if I upgrade my board than I have to replace everything. My graphics card (which I love, but it's AGP), my ram (which I just puchased a month ago) and my cpu. All this is going to be really expensive.

Please help, Thanks!!!!!

I would get the S939 upgrade.. might want to check into a new PSU, I had one of those Orions in my old NZXt case.. it blew in a month.

or get Intel C2D/Asus Mobo/2gigs of ddr2/and a 7900GT.. in that case you would need to get a new Powersupply also.

I would suggest getting a core 2 duo set-up if you are going to do a big upgrade like that.
ds3 motherboard
e-6300
2gb of g. skill ram
7900gs

Total: about $650

thanks for the advice guys.

I have a feeling if I just upgrade my cpu it not going to make too much of a difference (because of my graphics card) and I'm going to need to upgrade again in a few months.

There's no AMD XP 64, just the Athlon 64 and the AthlonXP. Yours is the Athlon 64 (because of the Venice Core).

And yeah, CPU won't really do much for your games. You need a better videocard, and trust me, you do not want to buy another AGP one. If you're looking to be at all sensible with your money, then you're looking at a new system.