Desperate - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2006, 01:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Default Desperate

Alright guys, long story short ive been wating a month+ more my gaming machine and now I finally have all my parts and build it, the drive gets formatted, windows insatlls and updates, drivers done and anti virus software in. Everything is done. All the LED's are plugged in a working. I shut the computer off and plug in the final LED fan and put the side plate back on, and now the computer turns on for half a second and turns off, disconnecting everything in every possible combination. to no avail. Now me and my computer buddy (who is very knowledable) instinctivly think, "okay, power supplys ****ed". we tried plugging in 3 other power supplys to the mobo and none of them worked, but he thinks the reason he had them laying around is because they didnt work in the first place. Now, aside from the power supply, does anyone have ANY IDEA on what else it could be?
__________________

__________________
Gamer Extraordinaire
Fireheart is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 02:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Motherboard died? Mobo shorting on case?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Default

It cant be the mobo, the LAN/Ethernet LED and the case lights are still comming on.
__________________
Gamer Extraordinaire
Fireheart is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 09:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Default

I guess if I gave you guys something to work with, here are the specs:

Aspire X-Cruiser Case
Enermax [Liberty Series] 500W PS {getting taken back in a few hours}
Gigabyte MOBO
Intel Pentium D 820 (2.8GHz) CPU
Seagate 300GB SATA HD
nVidia 7800GT Graphics Card
and OCZ 1024MB 533MHz memory.

Another thing I should mention; when we were building it, and EVERYTHING was plugged in working fine, he told me to power it down then start connecting my lights (even though I only had 1 left), but I did and plugged in my last device to a emtpy power inlet (and LED fan) and put the side pannel on, then we get the half second power and shuts down, right there I knew something was wrong. But even when we unplugged that (and every LED) it still would not turn on.
__________________
Gamer Extraordinaire
Fireheart is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 09:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Try a new PSU
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 10:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Yeah thats what we're doing, but what I asked is, if that doesnt work, what else could it be?
__________________
Gamer Extraordinaire
Fireheart is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 10:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 135
Default

i had something similar happen to me, got all my base parts in and it ran fine. put all my extra goodies in and bam, would only turn the fans once and not come on. i went through 3-4 PSUs...eventually switched out the mobo and everything worked fine...there was either some defect in the board, or i must have fubared something during installation...long story short, try replacing the motherboard. that or a stronger PSU? my vote is for mobo tho, and mine was still lighting things up too, like the LAN, but it wouldnt boot at all. FYI, the mobo ruined each PSU i tried with it.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0 Ghz
ABS Tagan BZ 800W
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
eVGA 9800 GX2
G.SKILL 2x2Gb DDR2 1000
150GB RAPTOR 10k RPM
SUNBEAM AC-9B-HUVB
snick is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 11:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default

id say change mobo... i got a Gigabyte mobo... the headache that s*^t brings...
__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 04:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Default

so mother board or the CPU
__________________

__________________
Gamer Extraordinaire
Fireheart is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.