Desktop will not power on? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2008, 08:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 83
Default Desktop will not power on?

I have a desktop that will not power on, when I turn the power strip off, then back on the fan comes on for a second then shuts right back down, unit will not power on at all.

Would this be a power supply gone bad?
__________________

dennykyser is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 05:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: Desktop will not power on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dennykyser View Post
I have a desktop that will not power on, when I turn the power strip off, then back on the fan comes on for a second then shuts right back down, unit will not power on at all.

Would this be a power supply gone bad?

Sounds similar to what happened to mine.. Turns out it was the psu.. I checked by using another psu (from my sons computer) to power it up.
__________________

__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 05:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Desktop will not power on?

The power supply would be a great place to start.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 05:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Desktop will not power on?

I had this problem, if you have a stand alone GPU connected take it out, my 9600 gt did the same thing to me a while back
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Some things you never knew about PC Power & Cooling!! Ste Overclocking and Modding 7 11-12-2008 07:58 AM
Power Supply Question #2,048,168 Sigma62 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 10-10-2008 06:01 PM
help miano99 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 09-16-2008 08:40 PM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.