Dell Pc's ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2006, 10:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

lol, dont u just hate dells. but then again they are much easier to diagnose than other brands i guess because of the hard drive thing (85%ish)
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 12:25 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

"but its the Price tag that dell puts on them is what makes them absolutley hated."

dude you can get 2.8 p4 512 ram 80 gig and 17' lcd for 499, for most people dell is just fine.

if you game and you want to squeeze every bit of performance out of your machine then never buy a dell.

that simple.
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 12:54 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdawg
"but its the Price tag that dell puts on them is what makes them absolutley hated."

dude you can get 2.8 p4 512 ram 80 gig and 17' lcd for 499, for most people dell is just fine.

if you game and you want to squeeze every bit of performance out of your machine then never buy a dell.

that simple.

Well I ment in terms of gaming and those high performance systems..

those 200 dollar dells are the ultimate porno machines...
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 10:52 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

The only time you ever would need to buy from dell is if your buying a relativiely cheap computer like $500 or less. Usually anything above that they start to rip you off.


Not all Dell parts are propiatary, for the one i have, it's ONLY the CPU and mobo. They both have to be together for it to work. That's it. My friends dimension 4500 or soemthing like that. He swapped OUT everything when he learned how to do this stuff.

New Case Some cheap case
New RAM 1gb corsiar value select
New Video Card geforce 6600
New HDD 120gb IDE

Although he didnt spent much he made a computer that cant even play cod 1 into a pc that can play cod 2 with med graphics.

Even I did some upgrading to my dell(bought it before i knew you could build them). Put 2gb of ram in it, another hdd, modded the side to put a fan on, put in a pci slot fan, mx440 to a geforce 6800 w/ vf700-cu, im thinking of buying a 7800gs, new case and psu.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 03:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default

Even better, my friend bought a Wal Mart computer and completely upgraded everything no prob.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 07-21-2006, 05:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

SiSoftware Sandra

System
Host Name : D8FV7C2J
User : Art
Domain : WORKGROUP

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.40GHz
Speed : 3.39GHz
Performance Rating : PR7462 (estimated)
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Dual-Core
Internal Data Cache : 2x 16kB Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way set, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 2MB ECC Synchronous, ATC, 8-way set, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector

Mainboard
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe USB i2c/SMBus
MP Support : 1 Processor(s)
MP APIC : No
System BIOS : Dell Inc. A05
System : Dell Inc. Dell DXP051
Mainboard : Dell Inc. 0FJ030
Total Memory : 2GB DDR2-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : Dell Computer Corp 82945 Series Memory Controller Hub (MCH)
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 2GB DDR2-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 4x 133MHz (532MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE

Physical Storage Devices
Removable Drive : Floppy disk drive
Hard Disk : ST3500641AS (466GB)
Hard Disk : TEAC USB HS-CF Card USB Device
Hard Disk : TEAC USB HS-MS Card USB Device
Hard Disk : TEAC USB HS-SD Card USB Device
Hard Disk : TEAC USB HS-xD/SM USB Device
CD-ROM/DVD : HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GWA4164B (CD 48X Rd, 48X Wr) (DVD 6X Rd, 6X Wr)

Logical Storage Devices
1.44MB 3.5" (A : N/A
Hard Disk (C : 345GB (300GB, 87% Free Space) (NTFS)
Backup (D : 116GB (48GB, 41% Free Space) (NTFS)
CD-ROM/DVD (E : N/A
Removable Drive (F : N/A
Removable Drive (G : N/A
Removable Drive (H : N/A
Removable Drive (I : N/A

Peripherals
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27C8
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27C9
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27CA
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27CB
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 27CC
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : Generic USB Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Mass Storage Device
USB Controller/Hub : USB ADSL Loader
Keyboard : HID Keyboard Device
Mouse : HID-compliant mouse
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device

MultiMedia Device(s)
Device : Creative SB X-Fi
Device : Hauppauge WinTV PVR PCI II (26xxx)

Printers and Faxes
Model : EPSON Stylus CX3600 Series

Power Management
AC Line Status : On-Line

more info on my system. got this from scisoft sandra lite

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional (Win32 x86) 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)

Network Services
Adapter : Intel(R) PRO/1000 PL Network Connection
artyman is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 06:01 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

thats fine for surfing the web etc. Probably play a few games too. Not a performance machine thats for sure. How much did you pay for it? I set up a machine of similar performance for a friend for about 700-800ish but with an AMD 3800x2.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 07:06 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

over 1000 BP

WHAT ARE THE REMOVABLE DRIVES F,G,H,I ?
i DONT UNDERSTAND THESE
artyman is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 02:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Lol. Cd Drive, Floppy Drive, Zip Drive, etc.....
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 02:28 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Also, sometimes those flash memory card readers show up as several different removable drives.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.