Dell PC for Gaming? - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2005, 07:27 PM   #61 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

why dont you get the san diego its a newer core. and its cheaper?

EDIT http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103529

the san diego uses less voltage and also suppots SSE3
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 07:29 PM   #62 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Default

I am definately not overclocking - I feel like I do not know enough to do it. Will I see a benefit to this RAM if I get it and do not overclock versus what I listed in my specs? If it will perform better without overclocking then I will get it for the small $ difference.

I was told that the Clawhammer is faster. Is it? I want what ever chip performs better since the pricing is almost the same.

Wow - based on your post below the San Diego is the way to go versus the Clawhammer.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 4000+ San Diego
EVGA 7800 GTX
4 GB Memory
jowens is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 07:32 PM   #63 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i still say go with the san diego core cause the core is newer, stays cooler, and doesnt use as much power. well you might want to go with the other ram, cause you never know when you might want to try OCing, maybe if you read throught some of the stickies and then try it, you might be able to get some nice OCs out of it.

EDIT:
San Diego
Once the silicon problem found within the Winchester was fixed, the 90nm process could support higher clock speeds. AMDs high end cores such as the 4000+ and FX series were stuck on the 130nm Clawhammer core since the 90nm silicon could not support them, however, using the Venice architechture, the San Diego, with a larger 1MB L2 cache, was born.

The San Diego is identical to the Venice, same instruction sets and memory controller, as well as same notorious overclockability. The introduction of the San Diego effectively migrated all Athlon 64 cores to 90nm process technologies. If you are buying a high end core, the San Diego is for you.


Clawhammer
This core is another one that migrated from the socket 754 family, and assumed the role of dealing with the high end processors in the family, such as 4000+ and FX series processors. It is also avalible in 3400+ format however. It's nearly identical to the Newcastle except it pumps out more heat, consumes more power, and has a larger 1MB L2 cache.

Like the Newcastle, this core has bitten the dust recently, and is outshown in both overclockability and overall performance by newer 90nm cores.


in my personal opinion the only two cores worth considering right now are the Venice, and the San Diego. The previous cores are outdated , and price is relatively the same when comparing to their predicessors.

http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=59883

written by gaara
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 11:02 AM   #64 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Ok dokey, san diego it is.

Heres a psu from newegg that will be just dandy:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103933
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 11:59 AM   #65 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

that psu is just so dandy
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 07:07 PM   #66 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

Jowens Practically posted the ultimate computer. You would definately be ready for future 64bit computing. There is nothing you couldnt run. The truth is, you could spend all that money, but you wouldnt notice much of a difference between a nice, Athlon 64 cpu and 1GB Ram with tight timings!
__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 07:10 PM   #67 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Default

I finished building it and am having problems getting it to run somethly with the 4 GB. I might return 2 GB and just keep 2 in the system.
__________________
AMD 64 4000+ San Diego
EVGA 7800 GTX
4 GB Memory
jowens is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 05:22 PM   #68 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

windows doesnt like 4GBs, you found out the hard way.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 05:47 PM   #69 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 132
Default

So, how was your first build? Tell us about it! I had a blast the first time I did it. Although it didn't work the first night... First PC build + case of beer = White smoke! LOL. Seriously, how did the build go?
__________________
Rig specs:
Aspire X-Dreamer case
Thermaltake Silent Pure-power 480W
P4 3.2Ghz (OC to 3.7Ghz)
ASUS P4P800E
1GB Crucial PC3200 DDR SDRAM
XFX 6800GT AGP (OC to 390Gpu / 1100Memory)
160GB Seagate 7200Rpm HD
Audigy 2 5.1 Sound Card
Plextor DVD Burner
56X CD/DVD-ROM drive
Igetshockedalot is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 08:22 PM   #70 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Default

It was a challenge. Took me 2 nights to build it! I finally have it running. Just trying to get the 4GB of memory to work properly. I am getting close. I can the 3D Benchmark and the PC scored over 17,600 which I am assuming is good. I purchased a Sound Blaster X-FI however it won't install properly. The PC will not boot with it in it. It seems to be a problem that Creative is aware of and is working on. Hopefully it gets resolved soon or I will return the card! The thing that I find hard about building a PC is all of the settings in the bios. I am working with OCZ and changing these settings to get the 4 GB of memory to work properly. However, I do not understand what all of the settings do so I am just making changes as they tell me!
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 4000+ San Diego
EVGA 7800 GTX
4 GB Memory
jowens is offline  
Closed Thread

« cpu fan? | New PSU »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.