Dell with AMD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2005, 02:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default Dell with AMD?

ok i ws searching around for something on the physx chip on google and somehow this article came up

http://reviews.cnet.com/4531-10921_7....html?tag=blog

All it says is that dell woll be moving to amd processors because they are better than intels and have been beating intel in the test results.
Wont this hurt intel because more than half their profits probably come from Dell? will this mean dell might stop locking their mobos? we'll have to wait and find out
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 02:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I think this was posted already. If not on another forum.. meh. whatever.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 02:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

If you have stock in INTEL, pull it out. If they lose the Dell account they will not be around for long.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

YAY! Now Dell won't suck, as bad lol
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 02:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I hope this doesnt happen, because if intel goes under, amd will be pretty much teh only cpu provider, and this will allow amd to slack off, because they know that people won't have a choice between amd and intel, i think intel needs to stay in the market because they're pushing amd to make really nice cpus, and intel will also drive amd into making more tecnological advances, if this happens those tecnolgical advance for cpus will take alot longer to make, because they dont have a competitor.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 02:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The only reason that Dell and other companies previously did not use AMD processors was because of the "rebates" that Intel offered PC manufacturers who only used Intel processors in their machines

Since AMD has taken Intel to court, this has swayed that mindset and since there is no longer a good reason not to use AMD processors, many manufacturers will be trying to cash in on the popularity of AMD...although most of that popularity is still "underground" and most people who buy AMD make that choice because they have done their research and thus build their own PCs
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 02:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

GOOD, suck it Intel, you shouldn't have been so stingy!

::Then 3 masked men show up at my door and haul me away...::
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Hopfully this will push Intel to make a better chip and really push the technology that currently exists.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

^^ Thats what i was saying. It will give AMD more of a competition cause Intel will be working hard on getting newer chips and winning the gaming industry back.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

finially dell thought
__________________

__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.