Dell and AMD - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2006, 12:01 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

I'm 16 I didn't know anything at all about a computer or how to build one before last August.

PS: I never bought that Celeron.
__________________

Green Radience is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 07:53 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
odysseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 302
Default

my first build was a 166Mhz Pentium!!!

o does anyone think that dell will replace the Pentium D w/ the Athlon X2??
__________________

__________________
Dell M1530
odysseus is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 08:02 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

More like Conroe.

New info; Apparently Dell's move to AMD Opterons, besides a wise move (for now), was a way of Michael Dell slapping Intel's Paul Otellini with a wet AMD fish. Otellini had Insulted Dell by going with the Mactels, so Dell returned the favor.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 09:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

Whatever dell is smoking i want it...

soon the public will find out how bad dell screws you in terms of gaming pc's..

or will they?

Example of why dell sucks A S S..
300watt psu with 12 amps.. <thats the psu i got with my $1065 computer i bought 3 months ago..

i'm such a f*ckin moron
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:16 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Lol. 18Amps minimum for a A64 system I doubt its much different for Intel.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:51 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

this is dell were talking about not a reliable supplier..
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 12:27 AM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

i wonder if apple will be using conroe chips when they come out.

lol all these people who just bought macbook pros will be ****ed. i would be.
The General is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 06:52 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
odysseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 302
Default

yeah that would suck, but wht i don't get is why apple went to intel and not AMD, intel has more of the market share but AMD has shown that they consistantly have better CPU's.. so what gives!?!
__________________

__________________
Dell M1530
odysseus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.