Deciding on RAM for mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2005, 03:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default Deciding on RAM for mobo?

Here is my mobo:
My Mobo

Is DDR 400 PC3200 the fastest RAM that this mobo will accept? I am just trying to understand the compatiblity of mobo's and ram. I am new to this stuff.

Also, I currently have 2 sticks of this RAM:
My RAM

Can I buy any other RAM that is also 512 DDR 400 PC3200? Can I put in faster RAM? Can I put in 2 stick of 1 Gig DDR PC3200? What is a great name in RAM, is Mushkin good? Should I stick with them or upgrade my next RAM purchase to something else?

Just trying to learn about this stuff, thanks for the input.

-KOH
__________________

KingOfHearts is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 04:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you can put faster rated ram then DDR400, and you can also add as much as 4GB of ram. you can buy another stick of that mushkin ram for 3 sticks of 512 but then it wont work in dual channel mode. OCZ, crucial?, G.SKill, and corsair(sometimes) are good ram companies. mushkin, i have no expedrience with them so dont ask me about then. you can mix and match basically any ram together, but it will work at the slowest speed. if you mix 2 pc3200 and 2 pc2100, all 4 of them will work at pc2100, which is ujst a waste for the pc3200.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 04:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

does that help?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146883

this is some nice ram.

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146890

this, good OCing ram...
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 04:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default

Cool bro, thanks for the info, very helpful indeed.
KingOfHearts is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 04:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

thats why we are here
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 05:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

ok if ur not overclocking then any kinda ram will do. just get ddr400 and as much as u want. like 1 gig or maybe like 1.5gb. i suggest corsair value select and i think many will agree. but muchkin is pretty good too.
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 06:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 38
Default

thanks again.........i will take a look at the corsair.
__________________

KingOfHearts is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.