Decided on Building My Own PC - Take a Look - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2006, 08:04 PM   #31 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kitire
I have seen people to get to 2.8 or 2.9 on opty 148's.
Sure, depending on the stepping.

"But" not with a 2X1GIG kit of some value ram.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:06 PM   #32 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Why? How is the RAM stopping them?
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:15 PM   #33 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Its perfect Sure you don't want a Sound Card? Its not really necessary, but nice to have.
I originally was going to get a Creative Sound Blaster Live! http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102176

However, I decided against it as, from what I've heard, the sound difference isn't significant at all from onboard sound to justify spending an extra $40 for it. I listen to music and play games often, but would it really be worth it?
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:19 PM   #34 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Its an excellent card, but the Sound difference wouldn't be worth the increase in your overall price. If you REALLY wanted to be blows away you could get a X-Fi XtremeMusic, but it costs $105.

Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Value is a decent investment though, $45.
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:21 PM   #35 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Ok, thanks. I am going to hesitate on a sound card for now, because I don't really want to spend anymore money atm, hehe. If I find myself wanting one in the future, I'll buy one.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:22 PM   #36 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Understandable. If you need any help in the actual building process, feel free to post here again.
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:22 PM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Why? How is the RAM stopping them?
Nothing, that guy is on crack like he was on crack when he got his accuracy on BF2.

--OwnT--
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:25 PM   #38 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Understandable. If you need any help in the actual building process, feel free to post here again.
Since it's Monday, they'll process my order tomorrow, and it may not go out until Wednesday. And with 3-day shipping, it'll probably get here on Monday or Tuesday, since weekends don't count. I hope I don't have to ask for help when I'm building the computer, for obvious reasons, but if I do, you can bet this will be the first place I will come.
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:25 PM   #39 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kitire
Nothing, that guy is on crack like he was on crack when he got his accuracy on BF2.

--OwnT--
Lol, I know. I was just setting him up for a bash-down.
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:26 PM   #40 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Why? How is the RAM stopping them?
lol - Flanker... come on.

Sure, you could get some overclocks from value ram, but it's a total crap shoot. If you're looking to OC a Opteron 165 1.8Gz per/core and you're looking to crank it up to say 2.6Ghz per/core.... Regardless of opty's potential, are you going to relay on value timings, value voltages & Less quality chips? Roll the dice...

You know what, i'm not even going to finish explaining. It's pointless.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.