Decent RAM for the Board ?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2006, 08:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Question Decent RAM for the Board ??

What do you guys suggest for a decent, but not too expensive, 2GB RAM kit ?? It will need to be able to handle a bit of overclocking.

It would be for this: Biostar Tforce 550 NFORCE4 550 ATX AM2 1PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 4PCI SATA RAID Sound GBLAN Motherboard
__________________

__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145590
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 02:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

the timings look a little high on that...you might just be paying for the brand name?

i dont know look around newegg i found some really nice sticks with tight timings for around 160 USD
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 07:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default

Well dave, I would recommend Crucial Ballistix RAM if you want to overclock and run'em cool but....they only come in 512mb sticks. You can get 512 x 2 in each kit but not 1GB x 2 for some odd reason (or at least that I could find). The Ballistix are amazing RAM that very soon I am going to buy another kit of!

::-:: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148007

::-Chase-::
Chase is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 05:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default

great, thanks alot chase.. 10points! :P
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 05:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to zdude255
Default

Those RAM aren't compatible with AM2 sockets because they aren't DDR2, at least as far as I can see.

Plus AM2 can get faster RAM speeds than 400Mhz.
zdude255 is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 07:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default

ooooh, ure right! i wasnt even paying attention to that.. good eye!
__________________

__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.