Is this deal for real?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2005, 01:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

right now just for Intel. i've heard AMD is waiting on DDR3. not sure on that one though. DDR2 is faster than DDR but i've also heard that the throughput of DDR2 isn't fully utilized yet, which is why AMD is waiting i suppose.

Also poisonporkchop, what is "nutcrab"?
__________________

__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 09:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

What deal are you guys talking about? I just see a list of Wintec RAM and can't find 2GB for $95.91...
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 09:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

the link at the top doesn't work anymore. looks like the RAM isn't listed now.
BColes is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 09:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

I bet it was a mistake. Probably was supposed to be $195.00. Also, a nutcrab is like a headcrab from half-life 2 except... well, you get the picture.
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 09:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

hey it is also showing crucial ram maybe it is its generic brand?
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 12:26 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PoisonPorkchop
I am a little confused about DDR2. Is it only for Intel? Also what are the benefeits and negatives?
At this point yes, AMD has not yet inlcuded DDR2 support.

Quote:
right now just for Intel. i've heard AMD is waiting on DDR3.
This was a rumor. AMD has anounced they will go DDR2 in 2006.

As for DDR2, the benefits are it runs at higher frequencies (ie DDR2800). But as far as negatives, it currently has higher latencies than DDR. For example many of the DDR2 chips are 4-4-4-12 or even 5-5-5-15. But this is also changing. I have seen high end DDR2 chips with CAS 2.5.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 09:05 AM   #17 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

As far as I know and have heard, DDR2 is crap at this moment, which is why AMD has yet to go with it. They did at one point say they were going to skip it and go to DDR3, but they retracted that statement, and, as Idiotec said, are going with it in 2006 (or thereabouts). As for the RAM, it is crap. It is generic DDR2 for a cheap price... POOP POO!!! As Trotter said, I think I'll pass.

As for the thread, I think he misread it. He was looking at the (2x512) and not the (2x1GB)
Him is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 09:28 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

95 bucks for 2x512 isn't a good reason for making a thread. I didn't make a mistake in my reading. The Link at the top used to take you directly to the product but i think they must have made a mistake in pricing as it's now gone. i would have bought RAM that cheap from "Bob The Tomato" electronics. HAHA. 2x1 gig for $95 seemed too good and it was.
__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 08:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

Those are pretty sick deals!
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-19-2005, 03:43 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I can't wait until gigabyte launches that PCI RAM DISK board. Buy like 4GIG of cheap DDR400 load that sucker up and create a RAMDISK. Put either your paging file on it... or install WIN XP on it. That's gonna be dashiznit!!!
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.